WDF World Cup Men Singles 2007

It was sixteen years ago that the WDF World Cup was held in the Netherlands in 1991. Then Zandvoort was the place, this time Rosmalen was chosen as the host city. The darts landscape in the Netherlands, however, had changed completely in the past years after five world titles by Raymond van Barneveld. Unfortunately for the Dutch fans, Barney switched to the PDC a year earlier and was not as a player at this cup. However, there is a lot of media attention and the semi-finals and finals are broadcast live on TV.

A record number of 41 men's teams, 38 women's teams and 15 youth teams find their way to the Netherlands where the Autotron hosts the tournament from 11 to 14 October. Iceland, Iran, Trinidad & Tobago and Turkey make their debut at a WDF World Cup. It will be a successful edition for the organizing country, with enough drama at the end.

Exactly 30 years after his illustrious compatriot Leighton Rees won the first-ever WDF World Cup, it is now the turn of Mark Webster from Wales to take the title. Webster has few problems on his way to the final or it must be in the match against Co Stompé. The Dutchman pushes the Welshman to a seventh and deciding leg, but after that leg is left empty-handed. Webster goes through to the quarterfinals in which he eliminates Marco Kantele from Finland. In the semi-final Mario Robbe from the Netherlands must also bow his head with 4-1.

The Norwegian Robert Wagner awaits in the final. He has eliminated Martin Adams, Connie Finnan and Geert De Vos on his way to the final. But in the final, the Norwegian is no match for Mark Webster. Webby wins 4-0 and takes the WDF World Cup title in the singles after his WDF Europe Cup title a year ago. Robert Wagner ensures that Norway wins a silver medal for the first time in its history.

Show players participated
Hide players participated

Venue: Netherlands Autotron, Rosmalen From: Thursday 11 October 2007 Till: Sunday 14 October 2007


Mark Webster
Photographer: MasterCaller.com
WDF World Cup Men Singles Darts - 2007