WDF World Cup Men Singles 1979

For the second WDF World Cup the teams had to travel to the gambling capital of the world Las Vegas, USA. The tournament was played at the Sahara Hotel on November 2 and 3. Sixteen countries took part in the WDF World Cup, which was a great success since the teams had to make this long trip. England, represented by John Lowe, Eric Bristow, Tony Brown and Bill Lennard were the big favourites for the tournament, and some 400 supporters had come with them.

Hong Kong, Jamaica and Northern Ireland make their debut at this second WDF World Cup.

The only event that remained to break the English hold was the singles event. This happened in the quarterfinals. First off the slow-throwing American Conrad Daniels took John Lowe out. Then Eric Bristow went out against the American Nicky Virachkul originating from Thailand. Then Welshman Ceri Morgan defeated the 1976 News of the World Champion Bill Lennard. Only Tony Brown remained standing for the English after the quarterfinals beating Scotsman Jocky Wilson. 

In the semi-finals, both players from the USA had to compete against each other. Victory went to Nicky Virachkul (4-3). With the same score, the unorthodox throwing, Ceri Morgan beat Tony Brown. 

The final brought the fans in the venue in turmoil with very good darts. In a best of seven legs the first leg went to Nicky who threw one ton after another. The unorthodox fast throwing Ceri Morgan took the second and third leg in 16 and 15 darts. Four consecutive scores of 100 were enough to take a 3-1 lead. The crowd did not let Virachkul down and cheered with relief when he came back to 3-3. Now Nicky was unstoppable, after scores of 125, 140, 100, 32 and 72, he is on double 16 after five throws. Virachkul hits it with his sixteenth dart and thus keeps the WDF World Cup singles title in the USA.

Venue: United States Sahara Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada From: Friday 02 November 1979 Till: Saturday 03 November 1979


Nicky Virachkul
Photographer: MasterCaller.com
WDF World Cup Men Singles Darts - 1979