WDF World Cup Men Singles 1991

WDF World Cup VIII was held from 2 till 5 October 1991 in the Dutch seaside town of Zandvoort. Not in a hotel or resort as is usually the case, but in the Gran Dorado bungalow holiday park. No less than 32 countries were present at the oche in the men’s event, which was a record. Five countries leave their ladies at home, but with 27 the upward trend is also maintained for the ladies. Among those 32 countries were five debuting countries; Russia, Luxembourg, Greece, Austria and the African Uganda.

The England men squad had plenty of choice in players and could even leave home this fabulous foursome: World Champion Dennis Priestley, number two in the world Mike Gregory, former world champion Bob Anderson and the 1989 Winmau World Masters Peter Evison. Of course, the big question was which country could prevent the English team of claiming their seventh consecutive overall title.

In the singles all four English top favourites reach the quarterfinals. In those quarterfinals Eric Bristow, the defending champion since 1983, loses to Scotsman Jamie "Brave Dart" Harvey 4-3. Phil Taylor goes down 4-0 in his quarterfinal against the Finn Aulis Nissinen. And Alan Warriner also loses his match against Welshman Martin Phillips 4-2. It was only John "Old Stoneface" Lowe who qualified for the semi-finals by beating Dutchman Bert Vlaardingerbroek 4-2. 

In the semi-finals Martin Phillips defeated Aulis Nissinen 4-1 and Jamie Harvey could not keep the English captain from the final he lost with the same score line. In an exciting final Martin Phillips eventually had to settle for silver. John Lowe beat him 6-4 thus winning the singles title for the second time.

Show players participated
Hide players participated

Venue: Netherlands Gran Dorado, Zandvoort From: Thursday 03 October 1991 Till: Saturday 05 October 1991


John Lowe
Photographer: MasterCaller.com
WDF World Cup Men Singles Darts - 1991