WDF World Cup Men Singles

The WDF World Cup is held since 1977 and organised by the World Darts Federation. The tournament is opened for ladies in 1983 and in 1999 the youth is also finally invited. The tournament is known as the official World Championship but hasn’t got the profile of either the BDO or the PDC World Championships. It is a gathering of players from all parts of the World who meet and play in a very friendly atmosphere. 

The 22nd edition was recently held in Cluj-Napoca in Romania in 2019.

In the early years the English are very dominant, led by John Lowe and Eric Bristow. The singles title between 1981 and 1991 always goes to one of them. Eric Bristow is the most dominant factor with four victories. Ten times in total an Englishman climbs the highest step on the podium. Netherlands wins this individual component of the WDF World Cup six times; Raymond van Barneveld does this three times between 1997 and 2003.

Wales grabs the title three times and the only other winners are Nicky Virachkul who takes the title on behalf of the USA in 1979. Jeff Smith does the same in 2017 for Canada and Darren Herewini in 2019 for New Zealand. Jocky Wilson is the only player who plays the final twice and does not win it.

In the history of the WDF World Cup, one player manages to throw a nine-dart. Wesley Harms throws him in Turkey in 2015 in his first-round game against Swede Markus Korhonen.

New Zealander Darren Herewini is the defending champion. He won the tournament in Cluj-Napoca in 2019.

Upcoming season (2025)

Tournament starts in

Reigning champion

Darren Herewini
Photographer: MasterCaller.com
2019 WDF World Cup