WDF World Cup Men Singles 2011

The World Cup is held since 1977 and organised by the World Darts Federation. The tournament is opened for ladies in 1983 and in 1999 the youth is also finally invited. The tournament is known as the official World Championship but hasn’t got the profile of either the BDO or the PDC World Championships. It is a gathering of players from all parts of the World who meet and play in a very friendly atmosphere.

In the early years the English are very dominant, led by John Lowe and Eric Bristow. The singles title between 1981 and 1991 always goes to one of them. Eric Bristow is the most dominant factor with four victories. Ten times in total an Englishman climbs the highest step on the podium. Netherlands wins this individual component of the WDF World Cup six times; Raymond van Barneveld does this three times between 1997 and 2003.

Wales grabs the title three times and the only other winner is Nicky Virachkul who takes the title on behalf of the US in 1979. Jocky Wilson is the only player who is in the final twice and does not win it.

Show players participated
Hide players participated

Venue: Ireland Republic Breaffy House Resort, Castlebar From: Tuesday 20 September 2011 Till: Saturday 24 September 2011


Scott Waites
Photographer: Sijmon Timmers
2011 WDF World Cup