Premier League 2018

In 2018 Michael van Gerwen wins the Premier League of Darts for the fourth time in his career. After sixteen weeks of competition the Dutchman crowned himself the champion in the O2 Arena in London.

The Premier League started on February 1 in Dublin. The world’s top four were automatically qualified for the 2018 edition of the elite competition. This meant that Michael van Gerwen, Peter Wright, world champion Rob Cross and Gary Anderson were secured of a spot in the league. Besides Rob Cross there were three more debutants in the 2018 edition: Austrian ace Mensur Suljovic; winner of the World Grand Prix Daryl Gurney and Welshman Gerwyn Price. Simon Whitlock and Michael Smith got an invitation as well alongside Dutch darting legend Raymond van Barneveld.

In week one, the recurrence of the World Championship semi-final was scheduled on the first night in Dublin. Reigning world champion Rob Cross took on the defending Premier League Champion Michael van Gerwen. Van Gerwen meant business and left Cross no chance; 7-2. Although this was a great start, the Dutchman suffered his first defeat in week two when Wright was the better player: 5-7. After this disappointing result in Cardiff, Van Gerwen won eight matches on the spin. In Rotterdam, in front of his home crowd, the Dutchman suffered his second defeat. Peter Wright showed great class again and beat Van Gerwen for the second time in the competition. The 2018 edition of the Premier League had two evenings in Rotterdam. The reason being that the Exeter night was cancelled due to bad weather conditions in England. Also the second night in Rotterdam ended in a deception for ‘Mighty Mike’. Dutch legend Raymond van Barneveld beat van Gerwen 7-5 to leave Van Gerwen pointless in Rotterdam.

Van Barneveld had a mediocre Premier League this year. The five-time world champion managed quite easily to survive relegation, but overall it just wasn’t his year. ‘Barney’ struggled in matches against Simon Whitlock and Rob Cross, which he lost because he did not live up to his potential. The 7-0 whitewash he got from a phenomenal Michael Smith and two lost matches in Sheffield made the play-offs a bridge too far for Van Barneveld. Despite these disappointments, the Dutchman pleased his ‘Barney Army’ with two wins in Rotterdam. Australia’s Simon Whitlock did not stand a chance against Van Barneveld on night one of the double Dutch week. On the second night a stunning Van Barneveld defeated his fellow countryman Van Gerwen to raise the roof of the Ahoy arena.

Gerwyn Price and Mensur Suljovic did not survive judgement night. The Welshman finished tenth with only two points from two draws. Mensur Suljovic did not play that bad, but the Austrian just failed to win matches when he payed well. The other debutant, Daryl Gurney, showed more bottle during the 2018 edition. The winner of the World Grand Prix ended up fifth, just three points behind number four Rob Cross.

Four players battled for the Premier League trophy in the O2 Arena in London. The first semi-final was between the number one of the regular competition Michael van Gerwen and Rob Cross, a recurrence of the opening night. Van Gerwen started off well and was in no time 5-1 ahead. It just did not happen for Cross who ended with an average of just 96. Van Gerwen reached the final with a 10-6 win. The other semi-final was between Michael Smith, who finished surprisingly second in the regular competition, and Scotsman Gary Anderson. The Ace of St. Helens had a good start, but Anderson managed to fight back and draw level at 4-4. Despite this little comeback from the Scot it was ‘Bully Boy’ who dominated the later part of the match. Anderson’s apprentice Smith booked his place in his first major final, outscoring and outfinishing Anderson.

The final between Van Gerwen and Smith never became a real match. ‘Mighty Mike’ started with two twelve darters and an eleven darter. In the fourth leg Smith managed to get a leg on the scoreboard, but he was not able to give Van Gerwen a run for his money. ‘Mighty Mike’ won five legs on the spin to make it 8-1. The Dutch ace was averaging 120 around that time. The world number one was just too good. The match was a done deal after the 8-1. Smith managed to get an extra couple of legs, but it was Van Gerwen who crowned himself Premier League champion once again, his third Premier League title in a row.

From: Thursday 01 February 2018 Till: Thursday 17 May 2018


Michael van Gerwen
Photographer: Lawrence Lustig/PDC
2018 Premier League of Darts

Prize money

  • Top of the Table
  • Champion
  • Runner-up
  • Semi finalists
  • 5d place
  • 6d place
  • 7d place
  • 8d place
  • 9d place
  • 10d place
  • Total

List of finals

Year Winner Result Runner-Up
2019 11 - 5
2018 11 - 4
2017 11 - 10
2016 11 - 3
11 - 7
2014 10 - 6
2013 10 - 8
10 - 7
10 - 4
10 - 8
13 - 8
16 - 8
16 - 6
16 - 6
16 - 4