WDF Europe Cup Men Overall 1980

Thirteen countries travelled to Ebbw Vale in Wales in October 1980 for the second WDF Europe Cup. England with a strong team consisting of John Lowe, Eric Bristow, Tony Brown and Cliff Lazarenko was of course the huge favourite to extend their European title from two years ago in Denmark. France, Gibraltar and Northern Ireland all make their debut at a WDF Europe Cup.

The overall standings were won in 1980 by the England team John Lowe, Eric Bristow, Tony Brown & Cliff Lazarenko with 101 points The third gold for Tony Brown with his singles title and win in the team event. Sweden takes the silver with 56 points and that was the first time that a country from mainland Europe finished in second place. In addition, there was of course also the gold in the pairs for Stefan Lord & Björn Enqvist. The Scots' Tartan Army came in third with 48 points. Host country Wales had imagined a bit more of this tournament on home soil but had to settle for fourth with 32 points.

Overall ranking
1 - 101 points England
2 - 56 points Sweden
3 - 48 points Scotland
4 - 32 points Wales
5 - 28 points Ireland Republic
6 - 24 points Denmark/ Northern Ireland
8 - 21 points Belgium
9 - 19 points Finland
10 - 18 points France/ Gibraltar/ Netherlands
13 - 16 points Germany

Venue: Wales Ebbw Vale Leisure Centre, Ebbw Vale From: Friday 03 October 1980 Till: Saturday 04 October 1980

Reigning champion


Trophy of WDF Europe Cup Men Overall - 1980

List of finals

Year Winner Result Runner-Up