Melbourne Darts Masters 2018

From the 10th to the 12th of August, the Hisense Arena was the venue for the second edition of the Melbourne Darts Masters. Peter Wright, who defeated Michael Smith 11-8 in the final, claimed the title. With his tournament victory, Wright won a World Series event for the second time in his career.

The colourful Scotsman showed his form during the entire weekend. In the first round Mike Bonser could not win a leg against him and in the quarter-finals Wright overcame Auckland Darts Masters-finalist Raymond van Barneveld 10-4. Wright performed best in his epic semi-final clash against Michael van Gerwen, beating him 11-7 with an average of almost 105 points per three darts.

Michael Smith’s tournament, who lost to a regional qualifier in Auckland one week earlier, started with an easy 6-2 victory over Tim Pusey. Rob Cross gave Bullyboy a tougher contest at the last eight and Smith faced certain elimination, before winning four legs in a row and reaching the semi-finals. In the semi-final he played well and managed to defeat Gary Anderson, his mentor: 11-5.

Venue: Australia Hisense Arena, Melbourne From: Friday 10 August 2018 Till: Sunday 12 August 2018


Peter Wright
Photographer: RTL7 Darts
Melbourne Darts Masters - 2018

Prize money

  • Champion
  • Runner-up
  • Semi finalists
  • Quarter finalists
  • Last 16
  • Total
By year:

List of finals

Year Winner Result Runner-Up
(4) (97.70)
11 - 8
11 - 8
(4) (99.74)