Dutch Darts Championship 2018

From September 7 to 9, the first edition of the Dutch Darts Championship was held at the MECC in Maastricht. Ian White finally picks up his first EuroTour title by beating Ricky Evans in the final 8-5.

The tournament has many cancellations and surprises. Because the tournament is just behind the World Series down under, a number of top players are passing this tournament up. World champion Rob Cross is not there and also Mensur Suljovic, Michael Smith, Gary Anderson and Raymond van Barneveld do not participate. When the number one of the world and the big favourite for the title Michael van Gerwen then also loses in the first round with 6-1 to William O'Connor, the tournament is completely open.

Ian White plays strong the whole tournament, beating Arron Monk, Mervyn King, Simon Whitlock and Peter Wright on his way to the final. In the final Ricky Evans is his surprising opponent. Evans beats Jan Dekker, Steve West, William O'Connor, Joe Cullen and another surprise, Ritchie Edhouse in the semi-finals. Evans had never before passed the last 16 on the EuroTour and White only had one previous final on his resume.

In the final it is a nervous affair. White has the lead from the start, but there are a lot of opportunities missed by both men. In the end it is White who manages to throw the decisive double 20 and finally has his first EuroTour title at his 62nd attempt.

Venue: Netherlands MECC, Maastricht From: Friday 07 September 2018 Till: Sunday 09 September 2018


Ian White
Photographer: PDC Europe
Dutch Darts Championship - 2018

Prize money

  • Champion
  • Runner-up
  • Semi finalists
  • Quarter finalists
  • Last 16
  • Last 32
  • Last 48
  • Total
By year:

List of finals

Year Winner Result Runner-Up
(3) (89.18)
8 - 5