Brisbane Darts Masters 2019

The Brisbane Darts Masters was held for the second time on 9 and 10 August. Australian Damon Heta wrote history by winning his first major television title. After an exciting final he was just 8-7 too strong for the 2018 winner Rob Cross.

Two seeded PDC players are unable to make it through the first round. Both James Wade and Peter Wright lose in a deciding eleventh leg: Wade from Heta and Wright against Kyle Anderson. Raymond van Barneveld won 6-2 against Haupai Puha and Michael van Gerwen went through to the quarterfinals without a losing leg (6-0 against Ben Robb).

In the quarterfinals the Australian clash between Simon Whitlock and Kyle Anderson is on the program. Whitlock plays a convincing match and wins 8-0 against his fellow countryman. Demon Heta surprises Gary Anderson after his win against James Wade and beats the double world champion 8-6. For Michael van Gerwen and Raymond van Barneveld the curtain falls in the quarterfinals. Van Gerwen crashes 8-5 against Daryl Gurney and Van Barneveld loses 8-4 to Rob Cross.

Title holder Rob Cross goes again to the final after an 8-3 win over Daryl Gurney. But the big surprise of this tournament, Damon Heta knows how to stunt again. Against Simon Whitlock, "The Heat" wins 8-6, making it the first time he goes to the final of a major television tournament. In that final, Heta throws a great 164 finish (3-3), but Cross immediately counts back with a 104 finish. The title holder then runs out to a 6-4 lead, but Heta comes back to 6-6. In the fourteenth leg Cross misses a match dart, and a leg later Heta throws the double sixteen for the biggest title of his career.

Venue: Australia Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre, Brisbane, Queensland From: Friday 09 August 2019 Till: Saturday 10 August 2019


Damon Heta
Photographer: PDC/DartsPlace
2019 Brisbane Darts Masters (WS)
By year:

List of finals

Year Winner Result Runner-Up
8 - 7
(2) (97.92)
(4) (103.81)
11 - 6
(2) (98.41)