WDF World Cup Men Overall 1977

Eighteen countries participated in the first World Cup Darts held in London from 2 to 4 December at the Wembley Conference Centre, often with the Olympic spirit to win the WORLD CUP DARTS. The organization was in the hands of the British Darts Organisation (BDO) under the supervision of the World Darts Federation (WDF), formed in 1976 and consisting of 15 countries.

The host country was regarded as a favourite with reigning Winmau World Master John Lowe in their team. Each team consisted of four players. Wales was seen as the main opponent since they had Alan Evans, the 1975 World Master in their team. Also Leighton Rees, losing finalist of the News of the World tournament in 1976 played for Wales. Scotland with Rab Smith and the USA with Nicky Virachkul were considered outsiders. The youngest player was, only 16 years old, Belgian Arnold Vandepoele. The oldest, Joe Goldwin 52 years, came from Gibraltar.

The first World Cup was played over three events; teams of three players (until 1979 when it was played in teams of four), pairs and singles. For each component points and medals were awarded. The total points determined who ultimately would go home with the World Cup.

Wales was the first country to win the silver World Cup trophy worth £ 4,000 after an exciting battle with England.

Wales 1 - 110 points
Leighton Rees, Alan Evans, David Rocky Jones, Phil Obbard
2- England - 75 points
John Lowe, Eric Bristow, Tony Brown, Cliff Lazarenko
3- Rep. Ireland - 30 points
Charles Byrne, Patrick Clifford, Seamus O'Brien, Jim McQuillan
4 New Zealand 27 points
Cecil Howard Boyland, Bill Rose, John Andrew Wilkie, Robert Ian Hastie

Venue: England Wembley Conference Centre, London From: Friday 02 December 1977 Till: Sunday 04 December 1977


Photographer: MasterCaller.com
1977 WDF World Cup
Wales Wales

List of finals

Year Winner Result Runner-Up