WDF World Cup Men Overall

The World Cup is held since 1977 and organised by the World Darts Federation. The tournament is opened for ladies in 1983 and in 1999 the youth is also finally invited. The tournament is known as the official World Championship but hasn’t got the profile of either the BDO or the PDC World Championships. It is a gathering of players from all parts of the World who meet and play in a very friendly atmosphere. Recently the 22nd edition was held in Cluj-Napoca in Romania.

When it comes to the overall ranking of the WDF World Cup, England proves the strongest in fourteen of the twenty editions. Between 1979 and 1991 they win the Cup seven times in a row. Only Wales and Netherlands break the hegemony of the English with both three victories. The Dutch victories are in a row between 2005 and 2009 where Wales win next to the first edition in 1993 and 1997. Australia is the strongest in 2017, but this is in the absence of most British teams. The Netherlands had to wait 10 years after 2009, but in 2019 they put their name on the cup for the fourth time.

Eric Bristow and John Lowe with seven World Cup victories are the most successful players followed by compatriot Martin Adams who has won this title five times.

Upcoming season (2025)

Tournament starts in

Reigning champion


Trophy of WDF World Cup Men Overall - 2019

List of finals

Year Winner Result Runner-Up