WDF Europe Cup Men Singles 1982

At the third WDF Europe Cup darts we see next to the men also for the first time the ladies compete at the WDF Europe Cup. They get their own competitions separately. Where the men play with four players, the ladies play with two. As a result, there are three titles up for grabs among the ladies. Singles, pairs and the overall title.

Twelve countries will compete on October 15 and 16 at the Cliffs Pavilion at Westcliff on Sea in England in the third WDF Europe Cup darts for the men. Norway makes its debut and France does not bring a women's team, so that eleven countries compete in the first WDF Europe Cup for the ladies.

The English team had to play without John Lowe, the number one in the World Rankings, he was on a cruise with the SS Canberra. Lowe tried to get back in time but could not get a flight home in time and then decided to continue his vacation.

In the singles tournament the English players dominated. All four reached the semi-finals. Eric Bristow defeated Scotsman Jocky Wilson 4-0 in the quarterfinals. Dave Whitcombe beat another Scot, Angus Ross 4-2. Bobby George beat the Danish ace Kim-G Jensen with the same figures. Cliff Lazarenko lastly beat the third Scot in the quarterfinals Jim McGuigan, 4-1

If Eric Bristow reached the final, he would become joint number one in the world rankings with John Lowe. In the semi-finals, Bristow won 4-3 in a thriller against Dave Whitcombe. In the other semi-final Bobby George was the strongest, he beat Lazarenko 4-1.

In the final, Bobby George was far too strong for Eric Bristow, who played weakly. Bristow had apparently celebrated his new position as ranking leader a bit too much with “John Courage beer” the sponsor of WDF Europe Cup III. That elicited his girlfriend Maureen Flowers the following statement: "I suppose that you are content just to get to finals."

Venue: England Cliffs Pavilion, Westcliffe on Sea, Southend From: Friday 15 October 1982 Till: Saturday 16 October 1982


Bobby George
Photographer: MasterCaller.com
1982 WDF Europe Cup