Sydney Darts Masters 2016

In 2016, the PDC returns to Sydney for the fourth consecutive year as part of the World Series. From August 18 till 20 it is played in "the Star" hotel and casino.

In the first round, two of the professionals get knocked out. James Wade bows out against qualifier Rhys Mathewson who turns a 2-5 deficit into a 6-5 victory. Raymond van Barneveld loses to an Australian in the first round for the third time in four years. This year, Kyle Anderson is too strong.

In the quarterfinals Taylor wins convincingly against world champion Gary Anderson. Taylor has an average of over 112 which is the highest in the history of the Sydney Darts Masters. Chisnall beast Lewis 10-5 and both Australians cannot upset the odds again against Wright and Van Gerwen.

The two semi-finals are one-way traffic and are won by Taylor and Van Gerwen. In the final, it's Taylor who goes on to win it for the fourth consecutive year. Until 7-7 the scores stays level, but then "The Power" sprints away winning three legs in a row. Van Gerwen does come back to 10-9, but Taylor finishes it of in the twentieth leg. It is the first victory for Taylor over Van Gerwen in a TV tournament in 2016. Taylor remains unbeaten in Australia during the World Series. In Sydney he grabs his seventh World Series title in total.

Venue: Australia The Star, Sydney From: Thursday 18 August 2016 Till: Saturday 20 August 2016


Phil Taylor
Photographer: Steve Christo/PDC
2016 Sydney Darts Masters
By year:

List of finals

Year Winner Result Runner-Up
11 - 9
(2) (104.32)
(1) (99.63)
11 - 3
(6) (94.25)
(2) (97.08)
11 - 3
(1) (109.46)
10 - 3
(2) (101.40)