WDF World Cup Women Overall 1991

WDF World Cup VIII was held from 2 till 5 October 1991 in the Dutch seaside town of Zandvoort. Not in a hotel or resort as is usually the case, but in the Gran Dorado bungalow holiday park. No less than 32 countries were present at the oche in the men’s event, which was a record. Five countries leave their ladies at home, but with 27 the upward trend is also maintained for the ladies. Among those 32 countries were five debuting countries; Russia, Luxembourg, Greece, Austria and the African Uganda.

For the first time in history, the overall Women's WDF World Cup Overall title goes to the Southern Hemisphere. Jannette Jonathan and Jill MacDonald from New Zealand take the title with 44 points. Mainly because of the gold of the latter in the singles and of course the silver in the pairs. The Welsh ladies (Sandra Greatbatch & Rhian Speed) win the silver with 33 points. The bronze medal goes to Australia for the second consecutive time, this time with Louise Ball and Charmaine Barney with 24 points. America finishes fourth with 18 points and the organizing Netherlands comes fifth with 13 points.

Overall ranking
1 - 44 points New Zealand
2 - 33 points Wales
3 - 24 points Australia
4 - 18 points USA
5 - 13 points Netherlands
6 - 12 points Norway
7 - 10 points Denmark/ Ireland
9 - 6 points Belgium/ England/ Finland/ Germany/ Kenya/ Scotland/ Switzerland
16 - 3 points Canada/ Italy
18 - 2 points Brazil/ Japan/ Northern Ireland
21 - 1 point Bahamas/ Greece/ Zimbabwe
24 - 0 points Austria/ France/ Luxembourg/ Singapore/ Sweden/ Uganda/ Russia

Venue: Netherlands Gran Dorado, Zandvoort From: Thursday 03 October 1991 Till: Saturday 05 October 1991


New Zealand
Photographer: MasterCaller.com
1991 WDF World Cup
New Zealand New Zealand

List of finals

Year Winner Result Runner-Up