WDF Europe Cup Women Singles

Since 1978 the best players from Europe battle for the WDF Europe Cup. In 1982, the ladies get their own WDF Europe Cup. Until 2012 the two best women from each country fight for the Cup, the teams are extended to four women in 2014. Traditionally the English have been dominant in the history of darts, this tournament is no different.

The 21st edition was recently held in Budapest, Hungary in 2018. In 2020 it is not possible to play because of the Corona virus. Therefore, the next WDF Europe will be played in Spain in 2022.

In the women's singles only Francis Hoenselaar has managed to win the title three times. Sue Edwards and Trina Gulliver are both on two victories. Yet there were some surprising winners in the ladies as well. In 1998 for example Denise Cassidy wins for Northern Ireland, in 2012 the Belgian Patricia de Peuter wins the title and in 2018 the Swiss Fiona Gaylor will be in charge of the entire world top.

Nevertheless, England is by far the most successful country when it comes to the singles titles. Eight times an English lady won the title, 18 times an English lady was in the final and three times the final was a completely English affair. However, the last victory for England was a long time ago, in 2006. The Netherlands wins the singles four times, Wales, Germany, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Belgium, Russia and Switzerland all have one gold to their name.

The Swiss Fiona Gaylor is the defending champion, she won the tournament in Budapest in 2018.

Upcoming season (2024)

Tournament starts in

Reigning champion

Fiona Gaylor
Photographer: MasterCaller.com
2018 WDF Europe Cup