Perth Darts Masters 2017

Between the 25th and 27th of August, the tournament was played at the HBF Stadium in Perth, the same venue as in 2014 and 2015. Again eight PDC professionals are flown in for this tournament and they play a player from Australia in the first round.

The PDC players dominate the first round. Only Raymond van Barneveld is pushed all the way by Corey Cadby, but he wins in an eleventh and decisive leg. Van Barneveld would play and win more decisive legs. In the quarterfinals against Phil Taylor, that's the case and in the semi-final against Daryl Gurney as well. The latter misses three matchdarts in the last leg and thus sees the Dutchman progress to the final.

Opponent for Barney is the Flying Scotsman Gary Anderson. He defeats Rob Szabo, Simon Whitlock and James Wade on his way to the final. In the final it is close in the first ten legs and it could have gone both ways. Both Van Barneveld and Anderson miss opportunities, but eventually Anderson makes the least mistakes. The Scot wins 11-7 and thereby claims his fifth World Series tournament.

Anderson still has never lost a final in the World Series. For Van Barneveld it is his third lost final, he still has empty hands on the World Series. He is however the first player to play in 25 World Series tournaments. Barney has not missed one so far.

Venue: Australia HBF (Challenge) Stadium, Perth From: Friday 25 August 2017 Till: Sunday 27 August 2017


Gary Anderson
Photographer: RTL7 Darts
Perth Darts Masters - 2017

Prize money

  • Champion
  • Runner-up
  • Semi finalists
  • Quarter finalists
  • Last 16
  • Total
By year:

List of finals

Year Winner Result Runner-Up
(1) (103.98)
11 - 7
(2) (99.63)
11 - 4
(6) (94.22)
(1) (98.95)
11 - 7
(6) (99.15)
(2) (105.08)
11 - 9
(1) (103.02)