Auckland Darts Masters 2018

The 2018 Auckland title went to Michael van Gerwen. For the first time in his career, Van Gerwen lifted the trophy in New Zealand. He defeated Raymond van Barneveld 11-4 in an all Dutch final.

Mighty Mike wanted to show his A-game after his early exit at the World Matchplay a week earlier. Van Gerwen did show his best during the entire tournament, because other then Van Barneveld only Gary Anderson succeeded in winning four legs against the world number one. In the first round Van Gerwen demolished Cody Harris 6-2 and he gave Peter Wright no chance in the semi-final: 10-3.

Raymond van Barneveld reached the final by finishing extremely well. His check-out percentage of 47% against Warren Parry was ‘relatively low’, Barney finished around 60 percent against Mark McGrath and Simon Whitlock. It was not only his high double percentage, Van Barneveld showed his scoring class as well. In his semi-final against Simon Whitlock he threw an average above 100 points per three darts.

It is Van Gerwens twelfth World Series victory already, the first in 2018. Van Barneveld still remains without World Series title after his fourth lost final.

Venue: New Zealand Trusts Arena, Auckland From: Friday 03 August 2018 Till: Sunday 05 August 2018


Michael van Gerwen
Photographer: RTL7 Darts
Auckland Darts Masters - 2018

Prize money

  • Champion
  • Runner-up
  • Semi finalists
  • Quarter finalists
  • Last 16
  • Total
By year:

List of finals

Year Winner Result Runner-Up
2018 11 - 4
11 - 10
(1) (99.90)
11 - 7
(5) (98.96)
(4) (103.16)
11 - 10