World Masters Girls

Until 2018 commonly known as “the Winmau”, it remains the longest running TV event of all by the same organisation. It was first played in 1974 and sponsored by Phonogram. Winmau becomes the main sponsor in 1976 and will remain so until 2018. In 2019, L-Style and One80 will be the new name givers of the tournament. Players qualify by either winning an international ranking event, through their national team or via the British inter-county system.

In 1986 youth tournament is introduced at the World Masters. Until 1998 it is still mixed, but from 1999 there is a separate category for the boys and girls. Harith Lim from Singapore wins the first mixed edition. In 1999 Martin Brown and Janine Gough are crowned the first boy and girl Masters.

The only boy’s youth player who also wins the senior World Masters is Stephen Bunting. In the girls it’s Russian ace Anastasia Dobromyslova who does the same.

In the boys, Englishman Shaun Griffiths wins the tournament twice in succession in 2007 and 2008. Justin van Tergouw from the Netherlands does the same in 2015 and 2016.

In the girl’s competition, Janine Gough from Wales is able to win the tournament back-to-back in 1999 & 2000. Compatriot Kimberley Lewis does the same in 2006 & 2007. Zoe Jones succeeds in 2009 & 2010. The last player to win back-to-back is Beau Greaves in 2017 & 2018.

The first 24 years of the tournament it is held at several locations in London. In 1998 the tournament moves to Frimley Green for four years. From 2002 it relocates to the Northeast of England. First to Bridlington and between 2010 and 2015 the tournament is held in Hull. In 2016 it returns to Frimley Green for one year. Since 2017 Bridlington is once again the home of the tournament. The tournament moves to the Circus Tavern in Purfleet in 2019 with the preliminary rounds being played in the City Hall of Grays.

Upcoming season (2022)

Tournament starts in

Reigning champion

Katie Sheldon
World Masters Girls - 2019