U.S. Darts Masters 2017

The first edition of the US Darts Masters was played on 14 and 15 June at Tropicana Hotel & Casino. The field consists of eight PDC toppers who take on eight North American qualifiers in the first round. The eight PDC players are Michael van Gerwen, Gary Anderson, Peter Wright, James Wade, Raymond van Barneveld, Daryl Gurney, Max Hopp and Gerwyn Price.

Of the eight PDC players six win their first round, but most of them do face problems in doing so. World Series debutant Max Hopp does hit his doubles and loses to Canadian Dave Richardson. James Wade misses six match darts against Dawson Murschell and loses too.

Michael van Gerwen becomes the first winner of the US Darts Masters. He first beat Chris White, then Dave Richardson in the quarterfinals and Gerwyn Price in the semi-final. In total, he loses one leg in reaching the final. His surprising opponent in the final is Northern Irish ace Daryl Gurney. Superchin makes his debut in the World Series, but impresses with his victories over DJ Sayre, Peter Wright and Gary Anderson.

In the final, Gurney also shows what he is capable of. He even leads with 5-3 and an upset is on the cards, but then he starts feeling the pressure and Mighty Mike takes back the initiative in the match and will not let it go either. Van Gerwen wins five of the last six legs and crowns himself the first US Darts Master.

Venue: United States Tropicana Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada From: Friday 14 July 2017 Till: Sunday 16 July 2017


Michael van Gerwen
Photographer: PDC
U.S. Darts Masters - 2017

Prize money

  • Champion
  • Runner-up
  • Semi finalists
  • Quarter finalists
  • Last 16
  • Total
By year:

List of finals

Year Winner Result Runner-Up
2019 8 - 4
(2) (102.56)
8 - 4
(4) (97.22)
(1) (101.35)
8 - 6