PDC Youth/Development Tour Ranking Champion

From 2011 the PDC gets seriously involved with the younger players to break through in the future on the big stages. The series of tournaments changes names very often. From 2011 until 2014 they are named the Youth Tour, with the exception of 2013 when it’s called the Challenge Tour for a year. From 2015 the name of the tour is Development Tour. The age group of the participants has also changed through the years. Starting as an under 21 series, in 2013 it changed to under 25. Since 2014 the tour is open to players between 16 and 23.

The name does not matter, it focuses on the development of players between 16 and 23 and gives them a chance to play each other and not immediately against the absolute top in the PDC. The cycle is a great success from the beginning and especially PDC director Rod Harrington has been a great ambassador for this project from the beginning.

The last few years a season consisted of about 20 tournaments, played over five weekends. The best players from the Development tour ranking receive an invitation for the PDC World Youth Championship. Also, the top two receive a two-year tour card for the Pro Tour. The first winner of the ranking is Michael van Gerwen in 2011. The only player to win the ranking two years is Luke Humphries in 2017 and 2018.

At the beginning of 2021, 174 Youth and Development Tour tournaments have already been held. The most successful players on the Youth and Development Tour until 2020 are Ted Evetts with 13 wins, Dimitri Van den Bergh with 12, Luke Humphries with 11 and Dean Reynolds with 9 wins. 65 Different players have won a Youth and Development Tour tournament. In total, 16 nine-darters have been thrown.

Upcoming season (2021 UK)

Tournament starts in

Reigning champion

Ryan Meikle
Photographer: MasterCaller.com
PDC Youth/Development Tour Ranking Champion

List of finals

Year Winner Result Runner-Up