League of Legends

Following the success of the PDC Premier League Darts, organiser Lee Henderson in cooperation with Betfred and TV broadcaster Setanta organises the League of Legends in 2008. Eight big names from the 80s participate in a tour of 7 different cities in England. All the big names are involved; Eric Bristow, John Lowe, Bobby George, Bob Anderson, Keith Deller, Dave Whitcombe, Cliff Lazarenko and Peter Evison are the participants. Only one big name is missing; Jocky Wilson, but he has hung up his darts for good. After seven weeks of competition, the top four progress to the semi-finals, which together with the final are held at the Circus Tavern in Purfleet. The league has a small orange flavour because Jacques Nieuwlaat is on stage as one of the referees. The first ever Champion is Bob Anderson, beating Keith Deller in the final. A year later the tournament return in a trimmed down version, because the TV channel Setanta goes into administration in England the tournament doesn’t survive either. Keith Deller wins the second year beating Bobby George in the final.

Reigning champion

Keith Deller
Photographer: Chris Sargeant - TipTopPics
2009 League of Legends
By year:

List of finals

Year Winner Result Runner-Up
5 - 3
10 - 4