2019 WDF World Cup XXII - Heren

Published at 21/09/2020

The 22nd edition of the WDF World Cup was held in Cluj-Napoca in Romania. The Grand Hotel Italia is the venue from 7 to 12 October. All participant numbers records are broken. No less than 52 teams in the men’s competition, 46 ladies’ teams and 19 countries also sent their youth to Romania.


It will be a WDF World Cup without any incident which runs like clockwork and that is an incredible compliment to the organizing country that is itself relatively very small as a darts nation. No fewer than six new countries make their debut in Romania. Croatia, Egypt, Estonia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Ukraine are included for the first time.

Men’s Pairs tournament
For the first time since 1993 Canada takes the men's pairs gold medal again. David Cameron and Jeff Smith beat the English duo Daniel Day and Scott Mitchell in the final. It is a fantastic final with four players who are playing very well, many 180’s and high finishes are thrown. In the end the Canadians win 6-2.

Both Dutch pars fall in the semi-finals; Martijn Kleermaker and Chris Landman have to settle for the bronze just like Jeffrey Sparidaans and Luc Peters. By the way, the defending champions from Russia are certainly not doing bad; Boris Koltsov and Alexandr Oreshkin reach the last 16 where they lose to Scotland.

Men’s Singles tournament
For the first time in history, the tournament gets a New Zealand winner. Darren Herewini beats Peter Machin from Australia in the final. On his way to the final, Herewini beats Richard Edwards, Leon Mertuk, Gary Elliot, Mindaugas Barauskas, Chris Landman, Mitchell Clegg and Martijn Kleermaker.

Machin also plays a strong tournament and beats Daniel Day, Johan Engström and Nick Kenny, among others. This year again many different nationalities among the last sixteen, including three Swedes. Peter Machin is the third Australian to reach the final of the men's WDF World Cup singles, but after Peter Hinkley in 1997 and Raymond Smith in 2017, he too must settle for silver.

Men’s Team Event
There are not many surprises in the group stage of the team tournament. Russia does not survive its group because it loses to Croatia and Australia. And also Germany does not get through its group, they lose to Sweden and Ukraine. The biggest surprise, however, is the elimination of Ireland in the group stage. Canada and Hong Kong are too powerful for the Irish.

Hong Kong continues its good form in the knockout phase. Under the leadership of good-old Paul Lim, they beat Croatia, the United States, Serbia and, surprisingly, Nigel Heydon, Scott Mitchell, Daniel Day, Martin Atkins-Wigan from England in the semi-final. With this, Hong Kong ensures its first ever medal on an escalator. Wales will be the opponent in the final. The Welshmen beat Isle of Man, Australia, New Zealand and the strong Dutch quartet Jeffrey Sparidaans, Martijn Kleermaker, Chris Landman & Luc Peters in the semi-finals.

The final is an equal battle in which Jim Williams, Nick Kenny, David-Arwyn Morris & Darren Bingham from Wales always have the lead against Paul Lim, Royden Lam, Kai-Fan Leung & Hugo Leung from Hong Kong. Eventually Wales manages to pull that lead over the finish line. With 9-7 they add this title to their name. After the first edition in 1977 and a victory in 1997, this is the third time that Wales has won the team event.

Men’s Overall classification
In 2019 it is not the team with the highest peaks that wins the WDF World Cup, but the team that is the most constant. The Dutch team does not reach a final in any event but it is very constant in terms of performance with semi-finals, quarter-finals and players in the last 16. Overall that is good enough for the win. With 90 points Jeffrey Sparidaans, Martijn Kleermaker, Chris Landman & Luc Peters are three points ahead of Wales.

The bronze is for England with 73 points. Canada is fourth with 65 points and Australia fifth with 58 points.

Overall ranking
1 - 90 points Netherlands
2 - 87 points Wales
3 - 73 points England
4 - 65 points Canada
5 - 58 points Australia
6 - 54 points Sweden
7 - 49 points New Zealand/ Hong Kong
9 - 38 points Scotland
10 - 34 points United States
11 - 22 points Northern Ireland
12 - 19 points Slovakia
13 - 14 points Austria/ Finland/ Norway/ Serbia/ Czech Republic
18 - 13 points Hungary/ Switzerland/ Spain
21 - 12 points Mongolia
22 - 11 points Ukraine
23 - 10 points Lithuania/ France/ Romania
26 - 9 points South Korea/ Latvia/ Germany/ Greece/ Croatia
31 - 8 points Bulgaria/ Isle of Man
33 - 7 points South Africa/ Jersey/ Gibraltar
36 - 6 points Slovenia/ Estonia/ Russia/ Italy
40 - 3 points Republic Ireland/ Turks and Caicos
42 - 2 points Trinidad & Tobago/ Denmark
44 - 1 point Japan/ Catalonia/ Iceland/ Luxembourg
48 - 0 points Pakistan/ Turkey/ Cyprus/ Egypt/ Brazil