2019 WDF World Cup XXII - Dames

Published at 21/09/2020

The 22nd edition of the WDF World Cup was held in Cluj-Napoca in Romania. The Grand Hotel Italia is the venue from 7 to 12 October. All participant numbers records are broken. No less than 52 teams in the men’s competition, 46 ladies’ teams and 19 countries also sent their youth to Romania.


It will be a WDF World Cup without any incident which runs like clockwork and that is an incredible compliment to the organizing country that is itself relatively very small as a darts nation. No fewer than six new countries make their debut in Romania. Croatia, Egypt, Estonia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Ukraine are included for the first time.

Ladies Pairs tournament
With world champion Mikuru Suzuki in their midst, Japan knows how to score well at this WDF World Cup, also in the ladies pairs in which they claim the gold. With Mayumi Ouchi by her side, she manages to beat Switzerland and Sweden, among others. Until the quarterfinals, the Japanese duo don't give up a leg. In the quarterfinals they win 4-2 against the Canadian duo Dianne Gobeil & Darlene van Sleeuwen. The biggest test a awaits in the semi-final gainst Tori Kewish & Barb Smyth from Australia. The victory comes eventually in a ninth and deciding leg.

Opponents in the final are the surprising Czech duo Jitka Cisarova & Alena Gregurkova. The Czech ladies beat a number of great pairs on their way to the final, including the Dutch duo Anca Zijlstra and Marjolein Noijens. In the quarterfinals they beat Danna Foster & Karrah Boutilier from Canada, but their best victory comes in the semi-finals against the English tandem of Lorraine Winstanley and Fallon Sherrock. The English ladies are brushed aside 5-0 without a chance.

Unfortunately, the Czech ladies cannot conjure up the good game of the semi-final in the final. Japan is way too strong and wins 6-1. History however is written for the Czech Republic because this country had never won a medal at a WDF World Cup before.

Ladies Singles tournament
In 2019, the tournament gets a Japanese winner for the first time in history; Mikuru Suzuki wins the final 7-3 over English ace Deta Hedman. On her way to the final, Suzuki beats Anna Hlavova, Areum Kim, Merve Erden, Maria O’Brien, Maud Jansson and in the semi-final defending champion Vicky Pruim.

Hedman does not get off to a good start in the final and has to settle for silver for the second time in her career, in addition to her 2013 gold medal. Trina Gulliver-MBE remains the only lady with two singles titles.

The bronze this year goes to Vicky Pruim on behalf of Sweden and to New Zealand’s Tori Kewish.

Ladies Team Event
With the return of England in the team tournament, they immediately win the tournament in again. In the group stage no team wins more than three legs from the English ladies. In the knock-out phase, England is having a hard time with the Scottish ladies in the last 16. It will be 9-6 for England, which is then warmed up and easily beats Wales (9-2) and Canada (9-1).

Australia is the opponent in the final. They beat Russia (9-6), Switzerland (9-8) and in the semi-final Sweden (9-1). In the final, Australia is on the backfoot quickly and the gap is never closed. The final score is 9-4 to the English ladies and with that they win the team event for the second time, every time they participated.

There were some surprises in the pool phase. Title defender Netherlands does not survive the group stage. But also Finland, Denmark, Germany and Northern Ireland do not reach the knockout phase. The bronze medals are for Canada and Sweden.

Ladies Overall classification
Although England may collect less gold than in other years, they are simply the strongest in depth. The team tournament is convincingly won and the overall ranking also goes to the English ladies. With 132 points, they are 32 points ahead of Japan. In addition to the gold in the singles and the couples, the Japanese also grab a silver medal overall. The bronze goes to Australia with 93 points. Sweden is well behind in fourth place with 62 points and Canada finishes fifth with 60 points.

It is the 12th overall title for the English ladies which makes their dominance clear once again.

Overall ranking
1 - 132 points England
2 - 100 points Japan
3 - 93 points Australia
4 - 62 points Sweden
5 - 60 points Canada
6 - 38 points Czech Republic
7 - 33 points Switzerland/ Wales
9 - 32 points Norway
10 - 27 points USA
11 - 22 points Scotland
12 - 19 points Korea Republic
13 - 18 points South Africa/ New Zealand/ Republic Ireland
16 - 17 points Hong Kong
17 - 15 points Finland
18 - 14 points Russia/ Northern Ireland/ Hungary
21 - 13 points Germany
22 - 11 points France/ Turkey
24 - 10 points Ukraine/ Netherlands
26 - 9 points Greece/ Iceland
28 - 7 points Spain
29 - 5 points Jersey/ Lithuania/ Italy/ Romania/ Denmark
34 - 4 points Turks and Caicos/ Austria/ Latvia/ Bulgaria
38 - 3 points Mongolia/ Estonia
40 - 1 point Catalonia/ Slovenia
42 - 0 points Luxembourg/ Egypt/ Isle of Man/ Brazil/ Serbia