2015 WDF World Cup XX - Heren

Published at 31/08/2020

After organizing two Europe Cups, Turkey is ready for the big one; a WDF World Cup. The organization of the twentieth WDF World Cup is fantastic and almost everyone is happy with the all-inclusive principle of the playing location. In the men's tournament, 36 countries compete for the Cup, 29 countries bring a women's team and a record number of 16 youth teams find their way to the Turkish resort in Kemer. The Limra Hotel & Resort is the hotel and playing venue from 26 to 31 October.


For the first time there are four ladies per team, until 2015 there were always two. This means that an extra day of play is added to the schedule. From now on, the teams will play over five days and the opening ceremony is the day before. Nick Rolls joins the team of officials in 2015. Together with Richard Ashdown and Jacques Nieuwlaat they oversee the floor matches and the stage program. Bulgaria is there for the first time since 1995 and Serbia is the last newcomer to the WDF World Cup stage.

Men’s Pairs tournament
The pairs tournament is of a high standard in 2015. Many strong pairs are on the list at the start and they do not disappoint. In the semi-finals, the Dutch Wesley Harms & Richard Veenstra play against the Walesmen Jim Williams & Mark Layton. The Dutch win the game 5-3.

In the other semi-final, Scott Mitchell & Mark McGeeney from England take on the Scottish tandem of Ross Montgomery & Alan Soutar. The English win 5-2 in a fantastic match.

The final goes to the Dutch who win 6-3. Wesley Harms & Richard Veenstra become the third Dutch pair to win the WDF World Cup title after Raymond van Barneveld & Vincent van der Voort in 2005 and Mario Robbe & Joey ten Berge in 2007.

Men’s Singles tournament
Eight years after Mark Webster and 38 years after Leighton Rees, Jim Williams becomes the third Welsh player to win the WDF World Cup singles title. The Quif (the crest) consecutively beats Vegar Elvevoll, Frank Avenand, Oliver Ferenc, Ivan Neykov, Darren Clifford and Darius Labanauskas on his way to the final. In the final, the Welshman plays against the Scot Ross Montgomery.

Montgomery himself beats Richard Cedeno, Scott Mitchell, Steven Miles, Jozsef Rucska and Larry Butler. In the semi-finals, Montgomery would have to compete against the Greek John Michael, but Michael is disqualified from the tournament just before that semi-final because he does not meet the rules to participate. A unique event that ensures that only one bronze medal is awarded this WDF World Cup.

In the final, Williams is 7-4 too strong for Montgomery. For the first time in history, there is no Englishman in the last sixteen of the tournament, yet another proof that the sport is becoming increasingly global.

Men’s Team Event
For the twelfth time in history, England is the strongest team at the WDF World Cup. Glen Durrant, Scott Mitchell, Jamie Hughes & Mark McGeeney give away only five legs in the group stage in a group that also includes (sub) top countries such as the Netherlands, Switzerland and South Africa.

In the last sixteen, Russia is put aside 9-3. In the quarterfinals Australia is actually also without a chance (9-2). The Northern Irish come closest to the English in the semi-finals. Neil Duff, Darren Clifford, David Glenn & Rodney Greer take five legs,

In the other semi-final, The Finns Marko Kantele, Kim Viljanen, Asko Niskala & Uki Takkinen play against the Irish quartet Sean McGowan, Brendan Grace, David Concannon & David O'Connor. The Finns had a strong series with victories over Belgium and Wales, among others. The Irish had also defeated a few strong opponents, including the USA and Scotland. The Irish win the semi-final 9-6 and set a unique performance. They had never been in the final before. The previous three semi-finals were lost.

After the Irish had finished celebrating, the final still had to be played a few days later. As is often the case, a team that has come out of an underdog position on that last day can no longer find the magic of a few days before. Sean McGowan, Brendan Grace, David Concannon & David O'Connor also cannot find it. The English foursome Glen Durrant, Scott Mitchell, Jamie Hughes & Mark McGeeney wins the title with a 9-4 score.

Men’s Overall classification
For the fourteenth time in history, the quartet from England wins the overall WDF World Cup. Glen Durrant, Scott Mitchell, Jamie Hughes and Mark McGeeney all do not make it to the last 16 in the singles. But they make up for it by winning the team tournament and reach the final of the pairs tournament. The total of England is 100 points exactly. Only in 1993 did a team win the overall title with fewer points.

Wales takes the silver with 72 points, Scotland the bronze with 69 points. The Netherlands with 66 points and the Irish Republic with 54 points finish fourth and fifth.

Overall ranking
1 - 100 points England
2 - 72 points Wales
3 - 69 points Scotland
4 - 66 points Netherlands
5 - 54 points Republic of Ireland
6 - 49 points Finland
7 - 44 points Northern Ireland / Australia
9 - 33 points Sweden
10 - 32 points Belgium
11 - 30 points Lithuania
12 - 24 points United States
13 - 21 points Norway
14 - 16 points Germany
15 - 15 points Hungary
16 - 11 points Switzerland / Italy
18 - 10 points Bulgaria / Russia / Luxembourg
21 - 9 points Turkey
22 - 7 points France / Serbia / Romania
25 - 6 points Czech Republic / Denmark / South Africa
28 - 4 points Catalonia / Iceland
30 - 3 points Gibraltar
31 - 2 points Austria
32 - 1 point Jersey / Iran
34 - 0 points India / Trinidad & Tobago / Greece