2011 WDF World Cup XVIII - Heren

Published at 17/08/2020

Castlebar in Ireland is the beautiful location for the eighteenth edition of the WDF World Cup. The world-famous Irish cordiality prevails and 38 countries make it a fascinating spectacle. 35 Women's team and 15 youth teams complete the line-up. The Breaffy House Resort, County Mayo, is the home of darts from September 20-24.


History is being written in Castlebar because England is the first country ever to win all three overall titles in one year. In addition, Catalonia, Lithuania, Poland and Romania get their first introduction to the unsurpassed WDF World Cup feeling.

Men’s Pairs tournament
In the quarterfinals of the pairs tournament there are eight pairs left from eight different countries. It again illustrates the further globalization of darts. Finnish duo Ulf Cedar & Jarkko Komula beat the Welsh tandem Jamie Lewis & Kevin Thomas's 4-2 in this round. The only surviving English duo, Martin Adams & Tony O’Shea beat South African pair Charl Pietersen & Shawn Hogan with the same numbers.

In the other half of the schedule it is the Swedes Daniel Larsson & Johan Engström who beat their Scandinavian friends Petri Korte & Sami Sanssi from Finland. The last quarterfinal is won by Ross Montgomery & Ewan Hyslop from Scotland who beat the Isle of Man's surprising duo Robbie Nelson & Colin Tyrer, all quarterfinals finish in 4-2.

The English are the first to qualify for the final by beating the Finns 5-1. In the other semi-final it is a lot closer. Ultimately, the Swedes triumph 5-3 against the Scots. Both pairs play very well in the final. It's Martin Adams & Tony O’Shea who are just a little cooler in the end and get the gold wrapped around their necks. They beat Daniel Larsson & Johan Engström from Sweden 6-4.

For Martin Adams it is his third gold medal in the pairs, his twelfth gold in total at WDF World Cups. O'Shea takes the pairs title for the first time. Remarkably, this is only the first time that a Swedish pair has reached the final of a WDF World Cup, where they have already won the gold several times in WDF Europe Cups.

Men’s Singles tournament
Twelve different nationalities in the last sixteen of the singles, but in the final it’s “business as usual” with two players from England left standing. Martin Adams and Scott Waites. For Adams it is his third final at a WDF World Cup, for Waites his first. Defending champion Tony O'Shea has very surprisingly lost in his first match against Anthony Forde from Barbados.

On his way to the final, Wolfie successively beats the Scot Ross Montgomery, Stig Jorgensen from Denmark, Northern Irishman Gary Elliot, Rowby-John Rodriguez from Austria, Daniel Larsson from Sweden and in the semi-finals Jamie Lewis from Wales. Waites, in turn, fights past Iranian Hossein Arabi, Petri Korte from Finland, Latvian Guntars Grebskis, Dennis Nilsson from Sweden, Welshman Martin Phillips and his fellow countryman Wayne Warren in the semi-finals.

In the final, Waites turns out to be too good for Adams this time. A comfortable 7-3 victory ensures that Waites gets a gold medal at a WDF World Cup for the first time in his career. It is the tenth time that an Englishman has claimed the gold.

Men’s Team Event
In the team tournament, there are no big surprises in the group phase, or it must be that Wales does not survive the group phase. In a strong group with Belgium and Canada, it is the British who lose out on leg difference. In the last 16 it is the defending champion Netherlands that goes out against a strong playing South African squad. The game between England and Scotland is simply won 9-2 by the English.

In the quarterfinals it is close in every game. England beat the Canadians 9-6. Sweden wins with the same numbers from Australia and Belgium does the same with South Africa. The fourth semi-finalist is Finland, beating Denmark 9-7.

England with Martin Adams, Martin Atkins-Leeds, Tony O'Shea & Scott Waites qualify for the final by winning 9-5 against Swedes Daniel Larsson, Dennis Nilsson, Johan Engström & Seved Rose and the Finns become their opponents. Ulf Ceder, Jarkko Komula, Petri Korte & Sami Sanssi beat Ronny Huybrechts, Geert de Vos, Thierry Michaux & Didier De Vuyst from Belgium 9-7.

The final is e a true spectacle that will eventually lead to a seventeenth and deciding leg. It is England that proves the strongest and wins the team tournament for the eleventh time in a WDF World Cup.

Men’s Overall classification
The English men dominate the WDF World Cup in Ireland. All gold medals hang around their necks, including the overall gold. Martin Adams, Scott Waites, Tony O'Shea and Martin Atkins collect 157 points and take the Cup to England for the twelfth time. The Finns take silver with 85 points and the Swedes bronze with 74 points. Wales collects 63 points and finishes fourth, Belgium finishes fifth with 47 points.

Overall ranking
1 - 157 points England
2 - 85 points Finland
3 - 74 points Sweden
4 - 63 points Wales
5 - 47 points Belgium
6 - 36 points Denmark
7 - 35 points Scotland / South Africa
9 - 29 points Australia
10 - 26 points Netherlands
11 - 25 points Germany
12 - 23 points Canada / United States
14 - 19 points Ireland Republic / Japan
16 - 17 points Isle of Man
17 - 14 points Northern Ireland
18 - 13 points Italy / Lithuania
20 - 9 points Norway / Spain
22 - 8 points Austria
23 - 7 points Barbados / Turkey
25 - 5 points Catalonia / Iceland / Switzerland
28 - 4 points Latvia
29 - 3 points Bahamas / Iran / Poland
32 - 1 point Czech Republic / India / Luxembourg / Romania / Russia / Trinidad & Tobago
38 - 0 points Brazil