2009 WDF World Cup XVII - Heren

Published at 10/08/2020

In 2009, the United States are elected host for the third time. After previous two editions in Las Vegas in 1979 and 1993, it is now Charlotte's turn in North Carolina. The Blake Hotel is the venue where will be played from September 23-25. New faces on stage for the first time in a long time. Richard Ashdown and Jacques Nieuwlaat replace Martin Fitzmaurice as host on behalf of the WDF from 2009.


It will be a very relaxed WDF World Cup in beautiful weather conditions, with 32 men's, 31 women's and 10 youth teams competing for the medals. The Cayman Islands are making their debut. Besides the Cayman Islands, Turks & Caicos, Trinidad & Tobago, Bermuda, Bahamas and Barbados are also present and this ensures that this WDF World Cup also gets a real Caribbean feel to it.

Men’s Pairs tournament
The 2009 WDF World Cup pairs tournament is a surprising one, which starts in the last 32 when the pair Harry Brown & Anderson Lewis beat the English pair Darryl Fitton & Tony O'Shea. Never has a victory been so loudly celebrated, not only by the men of the Bahamas themselves, but actually by almost everyone including their opponents. The team of the Bahamas celebrate until the early hours.

The quarterfinals will eventually feature eight pairs from seven different countries Northern Ireland, Spain, England, Australia, Malaysia, Sweden and two pairs from Norway. Northern Ireland's John Elder & Daryl Gurney beat Spanish duo Tony Alcinas & Antonio Hibernon. Both Norwegian pairs are eliminated in the quarterfinals, England and Australia are responsible for this. The biggest surprise is the pair from Malaysia; Tengku-Hadzali Shah & Joseph Clairines who reach the semi-finals.

The semi-final is the final destination for the Malaysians. The strong Australian duo Anthony Fleet & Jeff Kime is with 5-2 too strong. In the other semi-final, the Northern Irish pair is surprisingly too strong for the English tandem of Martin Adams & Scott Waites in a ninth and deciding leg.

The final is between Anthony Fleet & Jeff Kime from Australia and John Elder & Daryl Gurney on behalf of Northern Ireland. It is an exciting game that could have been won by both teams, but ultimately the Australians take the title. It is the second time in history that a duo from Australia take the pairs title. It previously happened in 1991 when Keith Sullivan & Wayne Weening claimed the title. It is a novelty for Northern Ireland anyway, they have never won a silver medal in the pairs. The men from Malaysia were able to celebrate again; four years after their first bronze medal, they now win another one in the United States.

Men’s Singles tournament
For the ninth time in history, an Englishman crowns himself the WDF World Cup singles champion. Tony O'Shea consecutively beats Martyn Freeman from Wales, Malaysian Joseph Clairines, Robert Wagner from Norway and Finnish ace Vesa Nuutinen en route to the quarterfinals.

In the quarterfinals, Silverback beats Martin McCloskey of Ireland. The second Irishman in the quarterfinals does win. Connie Finnan defeats Anthony Fleet of Australia 5-3. Joey ten Berge from the Netherlands wins 5-1 in the quarterfinals against Davis Smith-Hayes from Wales. The biggest surprise in the singles tournament is Eser Tekin from Turkey. The Turk beats a number of reputable players on his way to the quarterfinals and he even seems to beat Scott Waites in the quarterfinals, but he starts feeling the pressure too much. Waites is just a little bit better under pressure and wins the decisive leg. Tekin is the first Turk ever in the quarterfinals of a WDF World Cup.

In the semi-finals Tony O’Shea beats his fellow countryman Scott Waites 6-3. In the other semi-final, Dutchman Joey ten Berge beats Connie Finnan 6-4. The final never gets really tense. Tony O'Shea is simply too good for the Dutchman on this day. Silverback hits an average of 107 and Joey ten Berge is brushed aside 7-3. It is the biggest title in his career for Tony O'Shea.

Men’s Team Event
The team tournament of the WDF World Cup 2009 starts immediately with fireworks in the group phase. There are a few very strong groups and that means that we also say goodbye to a number of strong countries after the group stage. Belgium gets knocked out in the group with the Netherlands and Canada. In the group that includes Australia, Scotland and New Zealand, it is New Zealand that loses out. WDF European team champions Denmark also surprisingly exit in the group stage, Ireland and Northern Ireland both continue as the Vikings pack their bags.

In the last 16, the biggest surprise follows, Scotland knocks England out of the tournament and with that the feeling is that the tournament is open for everyone to win. Other strong countries such as Finland, Sweden, the United States and Wales also lose this round. In the semi-finals, Canada plays against Northern Ireland and The Netherlands face the Republic of Ireland. Canadians Ken MacNeil, Jerry Hull, Clint Clarkson & Bernie Miller beat Northern Ireland's John Elder, Daryl Gurney, Gary Elliott & Glen Rodney 9-6. The Dutch quartet Frans Harmsen, Joey ten Berge, Willy van de Wiel & Daniel Brouwer score the same result against the Irish Connie Finnan, Martin McCloskey, Stephen McDonnell & Sean Wilson, making the final the Netherlands against Canada.

In the final, the Netherlands quickly builds up a big lead and they don't give that lead away anymore. Frans Harmsen, Joey ten Berge, Willy van de Wiel & Daniel Brouwer take the gold medal. Surprisingly, this is only the first gold medal for a Dutch team at a WDF World Cup in the team event. With this victory, the Dutch quartet also takes the overall title.

Men’s Overall classification
For the third time in a row, the Netherlands takes the gold medal in the overall ranking. The quartet Daniel Brouwer, Frans Harmsen, Joey ten Berge and Willy van de Wiel win the team event and collect enough points in the other events to crown themselves WDF World Cup champion. The Dutch total 100 points. The silver goes to England helped by the gold medal of Tony O'Shea in the singles. They finish at 84 points. And the bronze with 76 points is for Australia that had already won a gold medal in the pairs tournament. Canada finishes fourth with 63 points, three points above Northern Ireland that finishes fifth.

Overall ranking
1 - 100 points Netherlands
2 - 84 points England
3 - 76 points Australia
4 - 63 points Canada
5 - 60 points Northern Ireland
6 - 52 points Ireland Republic
7 - 41 points Norway
8 - 33 points Wales
9 - 32 points Malaysia
10 - 29 points Germany / Scotland
12 - 28 points Sweden
13 - 27 points Finland
14 - 17 points Italy / United States
16 - 14 points Japan / Spain / Turkey
19 - 11 points Belgium / Denmark
21 - 9 points Bahamas / Trinidad & Tobago
23 - 7 points Cayman Islands
24 - 5 points Russia
25 - 4 points Iceland / New Zealand
27 - 3 points Barbados / Brazil
29 - 2 points Bermuda / Philippines / Turks and Caicos
32 - 1 point Switzerland