2008 WDF Europe Cup XVI - Heren

Published at 07/08/2020

At the Scandic Hotel in Copenhagen in Denmark, the sixteenth edition of the WDF Europe Cup was played from 27 to 30 August 2008. The first edition of this tournament was also played in Copenhagen in 1978; this edition will complete the circle for the Danes. The tournament also marks a change in organizational terms. From 2008, "Little" Richard Ashdown from England and Jacques Nieuwlaat from the Netherlands are the new faces on stage. They replace Martin Fitzmaurice. Twenty-three countries are taking part in this edition with their men, 22 also bring the ladies. Spain returns to the European playing field for the first time since 1996. It will be the most open and surprising European Cup ever.


Men’s Pairs tournament
In the quarter finals of the 2008 pairs tournament Martin Adams & John Walton beat the Scottish duo Ross Montgomery & Mike Veitch 4-0. The three remaining quarterfinals all end in 4-1, the Swedes Magnus Caris & Markus Korhonen win the Scandinavian battle against the Finns Petri Korte & Vesa Nuutinen. Scotland with John Henderson & Paul Hanvidge also qualify for the semi-finals, they beat the Austrian pairs Franz Thaler & Alireza Ghafouri-Fard. Marco Kantele & Jarkko Komula complete the semi-final line up, beating Mark Webster & Martin Phillips from Wales.

In the semi-finals, the English are too strong for the duo from Sweden and the Finns win 4-1 against Scotland. This means that Marco Kantele and Jarkko Komula reach the final for the second consecutive edition. Yet they will also have to settle for silver for the second time in a row. Martin Adams & John Walton win the final 4 legs to 2. It is already the fourth time that a Finnish pair takes home the silver. England is now picking up the gold for the seventh time in the pairs. It is the third time that Martin Adams succeeds and also for the third time with a different pairs partner.

Men’s Singles tournament
The globalization of darts was well developed in 2008. The last eight included no fewer than eight different nationalities. Northern Irishman Daryl Gurney wins 4-1 against the Danish ace Stig Jørgensen, Martin Adams from England beats German Andreas Kröckel with the same score line. Defending champion Mark Webster wins 4-2 against Scottish giant John Henderson. The fourth quarter final is the most exciting of all, in a deciding leg Fabian Roosenbrand from the Netherlands wins against the Norwegian Robert Wagner.

The semi-final is the final station for the Dutchman, he loses without a chance 4-0 against Daryl Gurney. In the other semi-final Mark Webster wins 4-2 against Martin Adams and so it remains possible for Webster to successfully defend his title. In the final, Webster is never in danger, he defeats Daryl Gurney 4-0.

This makes Mark Webster the third player in history to successfully defend his WDF Europe Cup singles title. John Lowe (1984 & 1986) and Phil Taylor (1990 & 1992) preceded him.

Men’s Team Event
With England, Wales and Sweden in one group, it was already clear in advance that a reputed victim would fall there. It would ultimately be the Swedes who crash out in the group stage. Little surprises in the first round. In the quarterfinals, host nation Denmark wins against Finland with 9 5. The Netherlands beats Northern Ireland with the same numbers, but there are also two big surprises. Firstly, Wales goes out against Germany with 9-6 and then the Scots also beat the pre-tournament favourites; England. This does require a seventeenth and deciding leg.

The German foursome Andree Welge, Andreas Kröckel, Kevin Münch & Karsten Koch cannot surprise again in the semi-finals. The Netherlands with Fabian Roosenbrand, Joey ten Berge, Willy van de Wiel & Daniël Brouwer are really a size too big, it ends 9-4 for the orange. Those who do surprise are the Danes playing in front of their home crowd. Per Laursen, Frede Johansen, Stig Jørgensen & Preben Krabben rise to the occasion and beat the Scottish team of Ross Montgomery, John Henderson, Paul Hanvidge & Mike Veitch 9-8 in a blistering match and thus qualify for the final.

The team final is traditionally the last match of a WDF Europe Cup. England currently holds the title, but if the Danish quartet Per Laursen, Frede Johansen, Stig Jørgensen & Preben Krabben could win the final against the Dutch Fabian Roosenbrand, Joey ten Berge, Willy van de Wiel & Daniël Brouwer the cup goes to Denmark. It will be a match full of excitement and an unprecedented apotheosis. After 16 legs it is eight all and both managers have to appoint someone who will play the deciding leg. The Netherlands had to do this a year earlier in its own country in the final against England and that did not end well. Then it was Joey ten Berge who took on the responsibility, this year Fabian Roosenbrand plays the deciding leg. He takes on Frede Johansen who has to complete the tough task for the Danes. Roosenbrand gets to a double much earlier, but just like a year earlier, the decisive dart does not want to go in. He misses five darts in two turns before Johansen gets a chance from 76. He hits the triple 20, but also misses two darts on double 8. Roosenbrand comes back again to throw for double 5. The first dart goes above and the second dart lands below the wire. Johansen first wires the double 8 on the inside, he hits the double four with his second dart. Frede writes, and with him the Danish team, a nice piece of history. For the first time in history, the Danes win gold, and not only gold in the team event, but also overall.

Men’s Overall classification
After the blistering denouement in the team event, it is Per Laursen, Frede Johansen, Stig Jørgensen & Preben Krabben who also win the overall gold medal on behalf of Denmark, but more importantly they can stick the big WDF Europe Cup in the air. In total, the Danes collect 82 points, which is 4 points more than England, which has to settle for silver. Just one point behind it, Scotland takes the bronze with 77 points. Finland is fourth with 73 points and Wales is fifth with 64 points.

Overall ranking
1 - 82 points Denmark
2 - 78 points England
3 - 77 points Scotland
4 - 73 points Finland
5 - 64 points Wales
6 - 63 points Netherlands
7 - 43 points Germany
8 - 38 points Northern Ireland
9 - 36 points Sweden
10 - 23 points Norway
11 - 21 points Austria
12 - 19 points Italy
13 - 18 points Russia
14 - 15 points Ireland Republic
15 - 14 points Belgium
16 - 13 points Iceland
17 - 10 points Spain
18 - 9 points Turkey
19 - 7 points Gibraltar
20 - 6 points Czech Republic/ Hungary
22 - 3 points Switzerland
23 - 2 points Latvia