2007 WDF World Cup XVI - Heren

Published at 27/07/2020

It was sixteen years ago that the WDF World Cup was held in the Netherlands in 1991. Then Zandvoort was the place, this time Rosmalen was chosen as the host city. The darts landscape in the Netherlands, however, had changed completely in the past years after five world titles by Raymond van Barneveld. Unfortunately for the Dutch fans, Barney switched to the PDC a year earlier and was not as a player at this cup. However, there is a lot of media attention and the semi-finals and finals are broadcast live on TV.


A record number of 41 men's teams, 38 women's teams and 15 youth teams find their way to the Netherlands where the Autotron hosts the tournament from 11 to 14 October. Iceland, Iran, Trinidad & Tobago and Turkey make their debut at a WDF World Cup. It will be a successful edition for the organizing country, with enough drama at the end.

Men’s Pairs tournament
The pairs tournament is again very unpredictable. There are no fewer than eight different countries in the quarterfinals. Host country the Netherlands is represented by Mario Robbe & Joey ten Berge. They beat the Germans Andreas Kröckel & Michael Rosenauer in that quarterfinal. The English duo Martin Adams & John Walton beat the Malaysians Abdul-Ghani Amin & Selbaraju Subramaniam. Martin Phillips & Wayne Warren from Wales are also going to the semi-finals, beating Per Laursen & Vladimir Andersen from Denmark. And finally, the Finns Marko Kantele & Asko Niskala also progress at the expense of Kyle Anderson & Ian Brown from Australia.

Robbe & Ten Berge play against Martin Adams & John Walton from England in the semi-finals. It is a fantastic match that will eventually be won by the Dutch in front of their home crowd. In the other semi-final, it is surprisingly the Finns Marco Kantele & Asko Niskala who beat Wales. Experienced duo Martin Phillips & Wayne Warren are beaten 4-2.

To the great enthusiasm of the audience, Mario Robbe & Joey ten Berge win the final against the Finns 4-2. With this victory, the title remains in Dutch hands, as Raymond van Barneveld & Vincent van der Voort had claimed the title two years earlier. Marco Kantele is left for the second time in his career with a silver medal in the pairs tournament, in 2001 he also lost the final.

Men’s Singles tournament
Exactly 30 years after his illustrious compatriot Leighton Rees won the first-ever WDF World Cup, it is now the turn of Mark Webster from Wales to take the title. Webster has few problems on his way to the final or it must be in the match against Co Stompé. The Dutchman pushes the Welshman to a seventh and deciding leg, but after that leg is left empty-handed. Webster goes through to the quarterfinals in which he eliminates Marco Kantele from Finland. In the semi-final Mario Robbe from the Netherlands must also bow his head with 4-1.

The Norwegian Robert Wagner awaits in the final. He has eliminated Martin Adams, Connie Finnan and Geert De Vos on his way to the final. But in the final, the Norwegian is no match for Mark Webster. Webby wins 4-0 and takes the WDF World Cup title in the singles after his WDF Europe Cup title a year ago. Robert Wagner ensures that Norway wins a silver medal for the first time in its history.

Men’s Team Event
In the group stage of the team tournament, there are not many surprises, or it should be that Belgium is eliminated in the group with Northern Ireland and Denmark. The Irish and New Zealanders also do not reach the last 16.

In the quarterfinals, the USA has its hands full with Malaysia, the Americans eventually win the close encounter 9-7. Northern Ireland simply beats Japan 9-3 and will also advance to the semi-finals. The other two quarterfinals are genuine squatters. England wins in a seventeenth and deciding leg against Scotland and the host country The Netherlands wins 9-7 narrowly against Wales.

In the semi-finals, the Dutch quartet Co Stompé, Mario Robbe, Joey ten Berge & Niels de Ruiter have few problems with Daryl Gurney, Roy Montgomery, Richard Dunlop & David Glenn from Northern Ireland, the victory is big, it ends at 9-1. The other semi-final is much more exciting. The USA with Gary Mawson, Chris Linkous, Joe Slivan & Jim Widmayer makes it very difficult for Steve Farmer, Martin Adams, Tony O'Shea & John Walton from England. Still, the more experienced English win the game 9-7.

The final therefore goes between England and The Netherlands. It will be a real thriller; England and the Netherlands will stay very close together and after 16 legs it will be 8-8. Then a player from team must be designated to throw the 17th and deciding leg. In the England camp they reach a decision quickly; captain Martin Adams does not shy away from his responsibility and steps forward. In the Dutch camp it is a completely different story, none of the four players seems to want to play the last leg. In the end it is Joey ten Berge who takes the responsibility and puts a fantastic last leg on the board, until he has to his a double, then the machine falters. He gets more than a handful of darts to decide the match, but it doesn't do in. Adams slowly approaches and he does not fail on the double. England takes the gold medal in the team event of 2007 and that is for the first time since 2001. For the tenth time in history an English quartet is the strongest in the team tournament.

Men’s Overall classification
It was a very close affair in the overall ranking of 2007. The Netherlands with Co Stompé, Mario Robbe, Joey ten Berge & Niels de Ruiter eventually takes gold in front of their home crowd with 108 points, which is five points more than the English quartet. Wales takes the bronze with 82 points thanks to Mark Webster who wins the singles. Finland with 56 points and Norway with 46 points fall just off the podium. It is the second time for the Netherlands that they take this title after they already took it home in 2005. After England, the Netherlands is now the second country to successfully defend a WDF World Cup.

Overall ranking
1 - 108 points Netherlands
2 - 103 points England
3 - 82 points Wales
4 - 56 points Finland
5 - 46 points Norway
6 - 37 points Australia / Malaysia / Northern Ireland
9 - 34 points Scotland
10 - 32 points Germany
11 - 31 points Denmark
12 - 30 points United States
13 - 29 points Belgium
14 - 20 points Sweden
15 - 19 points Ireland Republic
16 - 17 points Japan
17 - 15 points Canada
18 - 12 points Greece
19 - 11 points Hungary / South Africa
21 - 9 points Iceland / Latvia
23 - 8 points Bahamas / Isle of Man
25 - 7 points Turkey
26 - 5 points Austria / New Zealand
28 - 4 points France / Gibraltar / Russia / Trinidad & Tobago
32 - 3 points Czech Republic
33 - 2 points Spain
34 - 1 point Bermuda / Brazil / Italy / Switzerland
38 - 0 points Iran / Luxembourg / Turks and Caicos