2007 WDF World Cup XVI - Dames

Published at 27/07/2020

It was sixteen years ago that the WDF World Cup was held in the Netherlands in 1991. Then Zandvoort was the place, this time Rosmalen was chosen as the host city. The darts landscape in the Netherlands, however, had changed completely in the past years after five world titles by Raymond van Barneveld. Unfortunately for the Dutch fans, Barney switched to the PDC a year earlier and was not as a player at this cup. However, there is a lot of media attention and the semi-finals and finals are broadcast live on TV.


A record number of 41 men's teams, 38 women's teams and 15 youth teams find their way to the Netherlands where the Autotron hosts the tournament from 11 to 14 October. Iceland, Iran, Trinidad & Tobago and Turkey make their debut at a WDF World Cup. It will be a successful edition for the organizing country, with enough drama at the end.

Ladies Pairs tournament
For the first time in history, a Russian team wins a gold medal at a WDF World Cup. Anastasia Dobromyslova & Irina Armstrong ensure this extremely great success. They win the group with New Zealand, India, Trinidad & Tobago and Brazil without losing a leg. The Scottish ladies are then beaten 4-1 and the Australian pair Natalie Carter & Corrine Hammond with 4-3. In the semi-finals, the Russian ladies play against the host country The Netherlands with Francis Hoenselaar and Carla Molema. They also win this game with 4-0.

On the other side of the field, the big surprise is that the English duo Apylee Jones & Trina Gulliver are already out in the last 16. They lose to Angela de Ward & Nicole O'Donovan from Ireland 4-0. The Irish ladies in turn lose in the quarterfinals to Carina Ekberg & Maud Jansson from Sweden. The always strong duo Stacy Bromberg & Marilyn Popp from the USA wins 4-2 in the quarterfinals against another strong pair; Julie Gore & Jan Robbins from Wales. The semi-finals are disappointing in terms of tension. After the 4-0 victory of the Russians, the Swedish tandem also takes a 4-0 victory over the USA.

In the final it is a bit more exciting. Anastasia Dobromyslova & Irina Armstrong from Russia and Carina Ekberg & Maud Jansson from Sweden make it a great match. The game goes to the Russians, the result is 4-2. The first gold ever for Russia, for Sweden and for Carina Ekberg, it is the third time that they lost the final of the pairs, this happened before in 1999 and 2001.

Ladies Singles tournament
For the fourth time in history, two ladies from the same country will face each other in the final of the WDF World Cup singles. The ladies from Wales dominate the singles tournament. Jan Robbins and Julie Gore must decide in the final who will be the first WDF World Cup women's singles champion from Wales. Only in 1983 was there previously a lady from Wales in the final. Then Sandra Gibb-Lee lost to the American Sandy Reitan.

In the end it was Jan Robbins who was too strong for her compatriot in the final 4-2. Bronze goes to Japan in 2007 for Yukari Nishikawa, who succeeds her compatriot Ouchi as second medallist for Japan in the singles. Frances Lawson is the third player from Scotland to come home with a bronze medal in this event.

The other three times that a final went between two compatriots:
1993 USA Maloney vs Bromberg
2001 NED Hoenselaar vs de Boer
2005 ENG Bywaters vs Gulliver

Ladies Overall classification
For the first time in history, the Welsh ladies take the overall title. Julie Gore and Jan Robbins especially collect a lot of points in the singles, where they play the final against each other. In total they score 47 points, 12 points more than the winners of the pairs; Anastasia Dobromyslova and Irina Armstrong from Russia who win a silver medal. Carina Ekberg and Maud Jansson take the bronze for Sweden with 31 points. The USA with 26 points and Scotland with 21 points are just off the podium.

Overall ranking
1 - 47 points Wales
2 - 35 points Russia
3 - 31 points Sweden
4 - 26 points USA
5 - 21 points Scotland
6 - 20 points Netherlands
7 - 18 points Japan
8 - 16 points Germany
9 - 15 points Australia
10 - 13 points Denmark/ Ireland/ Sout Africa
13 - 12 points England
14 - 11 points Norway
15 - 10 points Northern Ireland
16 - 9 points Canada
17 - 8 points New Zealand
18 - 7 points Finland/ Hungary
20 - 6 points France/ India/ Luxembourg
23 - 5 points Belgium/ Spain
25 - 2 points Bahamas/ Bermuda/ Turkey
28 - 1 point Austria/ Iceland/ Italy/ Latvia/ Trinidad & Tobago
33 - 0 points Brazil/ Czechia/ Iran/ Isle of Man/ Switzerland/ Turks & Caicos