2005 WDF World Cup XV - Heren

Published at 20/07/2020

After Brisbane in 1985 and Perth in 1997, Australia hosts a WDF World Cup for the third time in 2005. From September 28 to October 1, the Challenge Stadium in Perth is where there will be played. It is the fifteenth edition of the WDF World Cup for men, the twelfth for women and the fourth for youth.


In the men’s competition 31 countries compete for the title, 26 in the ladies 26 and for youth there are nine. At least a record for the Australian Cups. India makes its debut this WDF World Cup.

Men’s Pairs tournament
In the 2005 pairs tournament, eight different countries eventually reach the quarterfinals. Australian duo Tony David & Graham Hunt defeat Mervyn King & Martin Adams from England in a 4-3 thriller. Malaysians Selbaraju Subramaniam & Anandan Tandrian also need a seventh and deciding leg to put the Russians Lev Kuzmichev & Vladimir Lavrientiev aside. The Malaysian pair had already eliminated Gary Anderson & Mike Veitch from Scotland and the Australian tandem Simon Whitlock & Anthony Fleet.

Margins are bigger in the other two quarterfinals. Raymond van Barneveld & Vincent van der Voort beat Paul Hanvidge & Paul McGimpsey from Scotland 4-1. Brian Sørensen & Per Laursen beat Aodhagan O'Neill & Luke Nolan from Ireland with the same numbers. In the semi-finals, the Netherlands beats the Australian pair 4-1 and Denmark beats Malaysia 4-3.

In the final it is the slightly more experienced Dutchmen Raymond van Barneveld & Vincent van der Voort who beat the Danish duo Brian Sørensen & Per Laursen 4-1. It is the first time in history that a Dutch duo takes the gold at a WDF World Cup. The Danes also make history with a first final finish ever.

Men’s Singles tournament
There are quite a few surprises in the singles tournament. The last eight include two Danes, two Dutchmen and four other nationalities. The performance of the unknown Brazilian Mauricio Maia is particularly eye catching. He beats Kim Viljanen, Aodhagan O'Neill and John Kuczynski, among others, on his way to the semi-finals. Mervyn King knocks world champion and defending champion Raymond van Barneveld out of the tournament and also makes the last four.

However, both these men do not reach the final. This goes very surprisingly between the Dutchman Dick van Dijk and the Dane Per Laursen. Van Dijk beats Graham Hunt, Harry Brown, Markus Korhonen, Andy Fordham and the aforementioned Maia. Laursen, in turn, also plays a top tournament and records victories over Tengku-Hadzali Shah, Kamarudin Ahmad, Gary Anderson, Daisuke Takeyama, Ulf Ceder and Mervyn King.

In the final Van Dijk is ultimately the strongest, he defeats Laursen 4-1 and thus, as the third Dutchman ever, takes the WDF World Cup singles title. Roland Scholten in 1993 and Raymond van Barneveld in 1997, 1999 and 2003 preceded him. Laursen is after Troels Rusel in 1993 the second Dane in the finals of this event, but also the second that has to settle for silver after defeat against a Dutchman.

Men’s Team Event
Quite a few countries came to Perth with high expectations, especially in the team tournament and it would become a real spectacle. For example, Finland wins 9-0 in the group phase against the English quartet, both countries do progress to the knockout phase, like all major countries. In the last 16, Northern Ireland wins in a sudden-death leg against the USA. The same goes for Scotland beating Canada. England is recovering well by beating Denmark 9-4.

In the quarterfinals, England beats the surprising Italians, Australia wins surprisingly easy 9-4 against Scotland. Finland puts the largest score on the board in a 9-3 victory over the Northern Irish. The duel of the quarterfinals is the confrontation between the Netherlands and Wales, which is won by the Netherlands 9-7.

In the semi-finals, the favourites fall. Finland with Ulf Ceder, Jarkko Komula, Marko Pusa and Kim Viljanen beat the Dutch quartet Raymond van Barneveld, Vincent van der Voort, Dick van Dijk & Niels de Ruiter 9-6. However, there will come no possible revenge for England because Mervyn King, Martin Adams, Andy Fordham & Tony O'Shea lose the sudden-death leg against the home team from Australia, consisting of Simon Whitlock, Tony David, Anthony Fleet & Graham Hunt.

The final between Finland with Ulf Ceder, Jarkko Komula, Marko Pusa and Kim Viljanen and Australia with Simon Whitlock, Tony David, Anthony Fleet and Graham Hunt also goes to a seventeenth and deciding leg. Ultimately, Finland is the coolest in that leg and takes a historic victory.

For the first time in their history, the Finns have won a gold medal at a WDF World Cup. Australia has to settle for silver for the third time in history.

Men’s Overall classification
For the first time in history, the men's overall WDF World Cup goes to a non-British country. The Netherlands win the pairs tournament with Raymond van Barneveld and Vincent van der Voort and Dick van Dijk is the surprising singles champion. Niels de Ruiter completes the team. In addition, a semi-final in the team tournament is sufficient for the overall victory. With 103 points, the Netherlands has 20 points more than Finland that takes the silver. After three consecutive overall victories, England has to settle for bronze this year with 74 points. Australia finishes fourth with 69 points, Denmark takes 68 points and fifth place.

Overall ranking
1 - 103 points Netherlands
2 - 83 points Finland
3 - 74 points England
4 - 69 points Australia
5 - 68 points Denmark
6 - 34 points Malaysia
7 - 32 points Scotland
8 - 31 points United States
9 - 25 points Italy
10 - 24 points Ireland Republic
11 - 22 points Sweden
12 - 20 points Wales
13 - 18 points Belgium / Brazil
15 - 15 points Northern Ireland
16 - 13 points New Zealand / Russia / Singapore
19 - 12 points Germany
20 - 11 points South Africa
21 - 10 points Canada
22 - 9 points France
23 - 7 points Japan / Norway / Philippines
26 - 6 points Bahamas
27 - 2 points India
28 - 1 point Switzerland / Turks and Caicos Islands
30 - 0 points Seychelles