1999 WDF World Cup XII - Heren

Published at 29/06/2020

In 1999, for the first time in history, a WDF cup is held in Africa. Durban is the host for the twelfth Cup. 32 countries participate in the tournament, of which 30 also have taken a ladies team. For the first time in 1999 there is also a WDF World Cup the young people. Nine teams take a boy and a girl to South Africa. All of them will compete in the Durban Exhibition Centre for the three major Cups from 6 to 9 October.


Four youth titles are up for grabs. Singles with the girls and boys, mixed pairs and of course the overall WDF World Cup. Botswana, Namibia, and the Seychelles are participating for the first time at a WDF World Cup, which is more global than ever before.

Men’s Pairs tournament
In the pairs tournament, Wales manages to take the title for the second WDF World Cup in a row. After Sean Palfrey & Martin Phillips in 1997, it is Ritchie Davies & Richard Herbert who get the gold around their necks this time. They beat Raymond van Barneveld & Bert Vlaardingerbroek from The Netherland in the quarterfinals. In the semi-finals they beat Wijnand Havenga & Lodwijk de Villiers in front of their home crowd.

In the final, the English duo Mervyn King & Ronnie Baxter awaits, but the Welsh men are unstoppable and win 4-1. The bronze for the South Africans is the first medal ever for that country in the men’s WDF World Cup history. The other bronze goes to the Scots Bob Taylor and Jamie Harvey.

Men’s Singles tournament
Raymond van Barneveld becomes the second player in history to successfully defend his WDF World Cup singles title. After his victory in Perth, he is also the strongest in Durban. In the quarterfinals, the Dutchman defeats Mervyn King in a decisive leg. In the semi-finals, Barney also needs seven legs to overcome Irishman Martin McClosky. McClosky surprisingly knocked Martin Adams out of the tournament in the first round. No Englishman would reach the semi-finals.

In the other half of the schedule, it is the men from New Zealand who dominate. Warren Perry and Herbie Nathan both reach the semi-finals, after victories over Andy Fordham and Ronnie Baxter respectively. The mutual game is won by Parry, who may compete against Van Barneveld in the final, but manages to get only one leg in the final.

With his win, Raymond van Barneveld becomes the second player after Eric Bristow to win the WDF World Cup singles title twice in a row.

Men’s Team Event
In the quarterfinals of the team tournament, Bjarne Jensen, Brian Buur-Sorensen, Stig Jorgensen & Anders Pedersen from Denmark win 9-5 against the surprising foursome Wayne Copeland, Steve Harris, Barry Payne, Earl Smith from the Bahamas. Raymond van Barneveld, Co Stompe, Frans Harmsen & Bert Vlaardingerbroek from the Netherlands also win, with 9-6 against the Finns Marko Kantele, Jarkko Komula, Marko Pusa & Jari Nissinen. They are joined by Wales and England in the semi-finals, although that is not without a struggle. Both countries need a seventeenth and deciding leg. The English quartet beats Paul Lim, Steve Brown, Dieter Schutsch & David Marienthal from the USA. Wales, in turn, beats Jamie Harvey, Peter Johnstone, Bob Taylor & Alan Brown from Scotland.

In the semi-finals, Wales then easily beats Denmark 9-1. England has a bit more trouble with the Netherlands, but still wins reasonably comfortable with 9-6 from the Netherlands.

It is the fifth consecutive time that Wales and England will face each other in the final of the team event. On behalf of Wales, Eric Burden, Ritchie Davies, Martin Phillips & Richard Herbert will compete against the English quartet of Mervyn King, Ronnie Baxter, Martin Adams & Andy Fordham. The 1999 WDF World Cup finale could not have been more exciting in the men’s. Not only the team gold, but also the overall title is at stake. In the end England proves to be the strongest. They win the final 9-7 to win the team event and the overall Cup.

It is the eighth time that England has won the team title with the men.

Men’s Overall classification
The overall title in 1999 is decided in the last game of the tournament; the final of the team event. It is England that claims victory and the gold and also takes the overall gold. In total, Mervyn King, Ronnie Baxter, Martin Adams & Andy Fordham tally 121 points. Wales takes the silver with 102 points and the bronze is for the Netherlands, and that’s for the third time in the last four editions, but at an appropriate distance with 71 points. New Zealand and Scotland have to settle for fourth and fifth place.

Overall ranking
1 - 121 points England
2 - 102 points Wales
3 - 71 points Netherlands
4 - 49 points New Zealand
5 - 48 points Scotland
6 - 38 points Denmark
7 - 36 points South Africa
8 - 31 points Ireland Republic / United States
10 - 26 points Finland
11 - 24 points Australia
12 - 23 points Northern Ireland
13 - 19 points Sweden
14 - 18 points Belgium
15 - 17 points Canada
16 - 16 points Germany
17 - 15 points Bahamas
18 - 12 points Malaysia
19 - 11 points Norway / France
21 - 8 points Botswana
22 - 4 points Cyprus / Kenya
24 - 3 points Hungary / Italy
26 - 2 points Japan / Switzerland
28 - 1 point Bermuda / Brazil
30 - 0 points Namibia / Seychelles / Uganda