1997 WDF World Cup XI - Heren

Published at 15/06/2020

After Brisbane, Queensland in 1985 the WDF World Cup darts goes "Down Under" for the second time this time to Perth in Western Australia. The long trip to the southern hemisphere means there are a lot less countries than two years previously in Basel, Switzerland.


But with 26 countries, the organizers cannot complain, as all the top countries are present for this event. Like in the men’s competition, there were 26 countries present in the ladies WDF World Cup in Perth. Competing in their eighth WDF World Cup from October 1 through October 4 at the Burswood Resort in Perth.

Men’s Pairs tournament
In the pairs event, this time it was the Danes who provided the surprise. Both pairs powered through to the quarterfinals. Stig Jørgensen & Frede Johansen lost in the quarterfinals 4-0 to Martin Phillips & Sean Palfrey from Wales. Ole Nissen & Bjarne Jensen, who had beaten Eric Burden & James Marshall the round before with 4-3, won their quarterfinal against Andreas Kröckel & Colin Rice from Germany with the same numbers.

The Northern Irish Geoff Wylie & John Magowan also played strongly; in the last 16 they had sent the reigning pairs champions from England, Andy Fordham & Martin Adams 4-1. In the quarterfinals, they also won deservently won against Scottish pair Bob Taylor & Peter Johnstone 4-1. Only one English duo was left in the last eight, Ronnie Baxter & Steve Beaton, who beat the Australian pair Wayne Weening & Graham Hunt 4-1.

In the semi-finals Martin Phillips & Sean Palfrey beat Northern Ireland's Geoff Wylie & John Magowan 4-2. The English beat the Danish pair Ole Nissen & Bjarne Jensen, also 4-2.

The final will therefore was a British affair, which was won by Martin Phillips & Sean Palfrey after a great battle. They beat Ronnie Baxter & Steve Beaton 4-3. It is the first time in history that Wales has claimed the pairs title.

Men’s Singles tournament
In the singles tournament we were in the eighth finals with only one Englishman left in, Ronnie Baxter. In it he defeated the Scot Peter Johnstone and qualified for the quarterfinals. He lost 4-3 in the quarters to home player Peter Hinkley. The Belgian Erik Clarys won his quarterfinal 4-1 to the Northern Irishman John Magowan. In the other two quarterfinal matches, it was 4-0 twice as Raymond van Barneveld (Netherlands) beat German Colin Rice and Welshman James Marshall was better than the Northern Irishman Geoff Wylie.

In the semi-finals we had two players from the lowlands. Raymond van Barneveld took a 4-1 win over James Marshall. Unfortunately for the Belgians we didn’t get to see a final between the Netherlands and Belgium, as Erik Clarys narrowly lost 4-3 to Peter Hinkley who was fully supported by the home crowd.

The title however went to Raymond van Barneveld who beat the Australian Hinkley in the finals 4-2 and gave The Netherlands their second WDF World Cup singles title in history.

Men’s Team Event
In the team event, there are no surprises in the group stages. In the eighth finals we do get the first surprise as hosts Australia with Wayne Weening, Steve Duke, Peter Hinkley & Graham Hunt loses to Serge Farrando, Laurent Saillour, Stephane Dalancon & Christian Le Borgne from France.

In the quarterfinals, England with Martin Adams, Ronnie Baxter, Andy Fordham & Steve Beaton easily beat the Norwegians Arne Sivertsen, Roy Trevland, Stein Trondsen & Thor Helmer Johansen 9-1. Raymond van Barneveld, Roland Scholten, Co Stompé & Hessel Stok from the Netherlands beat Paul Lim, Jim Widmayer, Roger Carter & Jason Lucas from the USA 9-7 in an exciting game. In the other side of the schedule, the Welsh four Sean Palfrey, Martin Phillips, Marshall James & Eric Burden win 9-4 against the Scots Bob Taylor, Peter Johnstone, Andy Wallace & Alan Brown. Finally, Marko Kantele, Ulf Ceder, Markus Jokikokko & Risto Sundgren from Finland put an end to the French dream.

In the semi-finals England and The Netherlands fight a fierce battle which is narrowly won by England 9-8. In the seventeenth and deciding leg, England puts forward the experienced Martin Adams. In the Dutch camp, no one really wants to play the last leg. The Dutch choose Co Stompé who until then had won all four of his legs in the match. After Stompé starts with 140 and the first two darts of his second turn are also in the triple 20, with his last dart he knocks out the first two and a score of 60 remains. Those darts on the ground eventually cost him and the Netherlands the leg and the match. With Stompé on 40, Adams finishes 80 and thus brings the victory to the English. In the other semi-final Wales found little resistance from the brave Finns as they beat them 9-4. Wales, which is now assured of the overall title, absolutely wanted to take revenge in the final, after losing it 9-4 to their big rival England two years ago.

The final was level at 3-3, but then Wales takes a small lead courtesy of Sean Palfrey who beats Martin Adams and Martin Phillips who defeats Steve Beaton. Andy Fordham, England's best player at that moment, reduced the Wales’ lead to 5-4. Eric Burden and James Marshall then take the score to 7-4. England comes back when Ronnie Baxter wins his leg, but then Eric Burden defeats Steve Beaton. One more leg for Wales and the title is theirs. Marshall James is close to a 12 darter for the title, but Fordham wins that leg to close the gap to 8-6. Now the captains of both teams take the stage against each other. For Wales Martin Phillips and for England Martin Adams. In an exciting leg, Martin Adams is waiting on 41 when Martin Phillips for Wales with a 60 finish in 17 darts wins the decisive leg in the team event. This time, the roles are indeed reversed and Wales wins the team event with 9-6. After the victory in the team event in 1977, this is the second time in history that the gold in the team tournament goes to Wales.

Men’s Overall classification
The overall title is won for the third time by Wales. Sean Palfrey, Martin Phillips, Marshall James & Eric Burden finish on a total of 130 points. England finishes second with 93 points followed by The Netherlands on 60 points. The hosts from Australia rank fourth with 51 points very closely followed by the strong playing Northern Irish team with 50 points.

Overall ranking
1 - 130 points Wales
2 - 93 points England
3 - 60 points Netherlands
4 - 51 points Australia
5 - 50 points Northern Ireland
6 - 43 points Finland
7 - 42 points Denmark
8 - 36 points Scotland
9 - 27 points Belgium
10 - 24 points Germany
11 - 23 points United States
12 - 20 points Norway
13 - 15 points Canada / New Zealand
15 - 12 points France
16 - 10 points South Africa
17 - 9 points Ireland Republic
18 - 8 points Sweden
19 - 7 points Bermuda / Malaysia
21 - 6 points Philippines
22 - 3 points Czech Republic / Japan / Switzerland
25 - 2 points Italy
26 - 0 points Brazil