1991 WDF World Cup VIII - Dames

Published at 25/05/2020

WDF World Cup VIII was held from 2 till 5 October 1991 in the Dutch seaside town of Zandvoort. Not in a hotel or resort as is usually the case, but in the Gran Dorado bungalow holiday park. No less than 32 countries were present at the oche in the men’s event, which was a record. Five countries leave their ladies at home, but with 27 the upward trend is also maintained for the ladies. Among those 32 countries were five debuting countries; Russia, Luxembourg, Greece, Austria and the African Uganda.


The England men squad had plenty of choice in players and could even leave home this fabulous foursome: World Champion Dennis Priestley, number two in the world Mike Gregory, former world champion Bob Anderson and the 1989 Winmau World Masters Peter Evison. Of course, the big question was which country could prevent the English team of claiming their seventh consecutive overall title.

Ladies Pairs tournament
In the pairs tournament, the English ladies Sharon Colclough & Deta Hedman lost 4-2in the second round to the New Zealand pair Jill McDonald & Jannette Jonathan. This duo would qualify for the final where they had to compete against Sandra Greatbatch & Rhian Speed of Wales.

Wales won the first two legs in 20 and 21 darts, with Sandra finishing the second leg from 88. The New Zealand women still won the third leg in 25 darts but eventually lost the final 4-1. Losing semi-finalists were Karin Nordhal & Hege Lokken from Norway and Sandy Reitan & Stacy Bromberg from the USA.

Ladies Singles tournament
In the singles event the English ladies lost their matches early in the tournament like they did in the pairs. So it was clear early on that they would not renew their overall title. In the first semi-final Lene Mikkelsen from Denmark lost against Australia’s Charmaine Barney 4-2. In the other semi-final, the Dutch favourite Francis Hoenselaar, who had defeated English top player Deta Hedman in the quarterfinals 4-1, played New Zealand’s Jill McDonald. To the surprise of the Dutch crowd Hoenselaar lost her semi-final 4-2 to the New Zealand ace.

So to everyone's surprise it was an all ‘Down Under’ final with Australia facing New Zealand. Both players were clearly nervous and impressed to play in front of the cameras. Jill McDonald won the first leg in 24 darts, Charmaine Barney took the second leg in 25 darts but it was Jill McDonald who took control of the match and won the final 4-1 (26, 24 and 27 darts).

Ladies Overall classification
For the first time in history, the overall Women's WDF World Cup Overall title goes to the Southern Hemisphere. Jannette Jonathan and Jill MacDonald from New Zealand take the title with 44 points. Mainly because of the gold of the latter in the singles and of course the silver in the pairs. The Welsh ladies (Sandra Greatbatch & Rhian Speed) win the silver with 33 points. The bronze medal goes to Australia for the second consecutive time, this time with Louise Ball and Charmaine Barney with 24 points. America finishes fourth with 18 points and the organizing Netherlands comes fifth with 13 points.

Overall ranking
1 - 44 points New Zealand
2 - 33 points Wales
3 - 24 points Australia
4 - 18 points USA
5 - 13 points Netherlands
6 - 12 points Norway
7 - 10 points Denmark/ Ireland
9 - 6 points Belgium/ England/ Finland/ Germany/ Kenya/ Scotland/ Switzerland
16 - 3 points Canada/ Italy
18 - 2 points Brazil/ Japan/ Northern Ireland
21 - 1 point Bahamas/ Greece/ Zimbabwe
24 - 0 points Austria/ France/ Luxembourg/ Singapore/ Sweden/ Uganda/ Russia