1989 WDF World Cup VII - Dames

Published at 18/05/2020

The seventh WDF World Cup Darts was played from 19 to 21 October at the Skyline Hotel in Toronto, Canada. In the men's 27 countries were present and competed for the WDF World Cup darts title. In the women's event 26 countries were present for their fourth WDF World Cup.


Would the English ladies be able to recapture their overall title that they had lost to the Americans in Copenhagen in 1987? And would the English men be able to take the overall title for the sixth time in a row? Host nation Canada took the men's overall silver two years ago, can they do a little better on home soil? Bahamas, Brazil and Kenya are there for the first time, as are Zimbabwe.

Ladies Pairs tournament
In the ladies event pairs both the English ladies Sharon Colclough & Sue Edwards and the American duo Kathy Malloney & Eva Grigsby reached the semi-finals where they met each other. The English women proved the better team this time in this event and won 4-2. In the other semi-final Australia’s Louise Ball & Eileen Morton defeated the Danish pair Mary-Ann Blicher & Lene Mikkelsen 4-1.

The English were certainly not going to give away the maximum points in the pairs event and won the final 4-0 against Australia. The third gold medal for England in this event.

Ladies Singles tournament
The England versus USA confrontation continued in the singles, where in the first round Sharon Colclough and Kathy Malloney went head-to-head. A close 4-3 score line, but it was Colclough who beat Malloney. Sharon continues strongly and, in the semi-finals, beat Jaime Koh from Singapore convincingly 4-0.

In the final, she meets the other American Eva Grigsby, who has eliminated the other English lady Sue Edwards in the third round, 4-2. The American then wins in the semi-final against the Belgian Marleen Nelis 4-2. Sharon Colclough and England already secured the overall title before the final was played. This certainly did not benefit her game. Determined to win the title for her country, Eva Grigsby wins the final 4-2. Following in the footsteps of Sandy Reitan, who won the title on behalf of the USA in 1983.

Ladies Overall classification
The overall title does indeed go back to England, Sharon Colclough and Sue Edwards collect 76 points. They are followed closely by Kathy Maloney & Eva Grigsby from the USA with 66 points. In third place, Australia takes an overall medal for the first time with 34 points. The ladies from Singapore finish in fourth place with 24 points. Denmark finishes fifth with 22 points.

Overall ranking
1 - 75 points England
2 - 66 points USA
3 - 34 points Australia
4 - 24 points Singapore
5 - 22 points Denmark
6 - 20 points Belgium/ Canada
8 - 17 points Sweden
9 - 13 points New Zealand/ West Germany
11 - 12 points Scotland
12 - 9 points Netherlands
13 - 8 points Bermuda/ Northern Ireland/ Switzerland
16 - 7 points Finland/ France
18 - 6 points Japan/ Norway/ Wales
21 - 5 points Brazil/ Hong Kong/ Kenya/ Ireland
25 - 4 points Bahamas/ Zimbabwe